We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family tradition”

Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe
Ranked #5 of 81 Restaurants in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: At Lone Cedar Cafe, we specialize in fresh and local seafood. If you're craving the freshest fish, clams, crab, shrimp and oysters from local North Carolina waters, you'll find them at the Lone Cedar Cafe. For generations, Outer Banks families made their livings - and their daily meals - from the bounty of local waters, caught fresh every day. Our family, the Basnights, were part of that history, and we continue the tradition today by serving only the freshest Outer Banks seafood, caught in local waters and brought to our docks daily by local fishermen, then cleaned and prepared right here at the Lone Cedar Cafe. Our vegetables are "just picked" from North Carolina farms, we serve only all-natural beef and poultry and even our herbs and greens are grown in our own chemical-free garden on-site. Come enjoy delicious food, gorgeous sunsets and panoramic water views, the antics of our resident ospreys and our warm Southern hospitality.
Plainfield, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
“Family tradition”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Every year we dine as a family at Basnight's. it is an experience we simply don't miss. Last night we went for our annual visit and were treated to the best service we have ever had! Jeff anticipated our every want and need and the food was just as fresh and delicious as ever! If you are ever in the area this is a must! We have been coming to the OBX for decades and Basnight's is one of our very favorites.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    892
    272
    104
    46
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southern Shores, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“2nd attempt, 2nd FAIL”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We recently moved to the beach and have been trying many of the local seafood spots. My wife and I each started with the crab soup which was quite good. Unfortunately we did not feel the same way about our entrees. I ordered the Fresh Flounder which tasted pretty bland. My wife had the fried seafood combo and the scallops and shrimp were still frozen on the inside. We both felt the food was just as boring as the décor..

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
june39, Owner at Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe does not serve frozen seafood! Our seafood is purchased fresh from local watermen only. Our fish, which is cleaned on-site, our shrimp, scallops, calamari..all of our seafood comes from fishermen we know. Our chefs choose to showcase the flavor of fresh fish, and fresh flounder is a mild fish, so if you are not accustomed to truly fresh fish, you may consider flounder bland. We can assure you, had you made your comments to our manager during your visit, we would have investigated and resolved your complaint. While we appreciate your feedback, we stand by our promise of serving fresh local seafood. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

If you are looking for FRESH everything..this place is one of the best. All fresh seafood and some of the best organic food. Nice views and great service!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank WM B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Quaint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

This was another waterfront Restraunt that was very good. The view of the Nesting Ospreys was delightfull and the She Crab soup Was Wonderfull

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mwoodon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, nh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Underwhelming”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Our expectations were set high on reading about all the fresh, locally, caught seafood. Unfortunately they do not deliver on their promise. The fish was bland and cooked in too much butter and the vegetables were completely overdone. The dining room is a cavernous hall with no atmosphere and much too touristy for my taste. We were quite disappointed and there are many other places to eat that do a better job for less money

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HikerBroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
june39, Owner at Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Yes, Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe promises fresh local seafood, and yes, we do deliver on that promise! Our seafood is sourced from local watermen only. Our menu identifies by name the person who caught the seafood. Our vegetables are grown by North Carolina farmers and in our own gardens. We feel our dining rooms are well-suited to family dining while also offering intimate dining with a spectacular view. We regret your dining experience did not meet your expectations, and your feedback is important to us. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe also viewed

 
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 

Been to Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing