We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Awesome service, crappy beds” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Owens' Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Owens' Motel
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome service, crappy beds”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We decided to make our trip to OBX a day early. We wanted to beat the 4th of July rush. The lady at the front desk was great. We told her that my sister had two broken feet and she respected our request for a first floor room and a handicap space. I would love to say the same for the rooms. The beds were very loud and squeaky. They were very small for a queen. You could tell they just painted which was great. They were fairly clean but not my cup of tea for more than a night's sleep.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cyndi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    34
    28
    27
    10
See reviews for
36
49
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Keswick, Va
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stay in the Owens's hotel for 3 nights, nice and polite service.
We stay in the courtyard session, it is not water front but it is across from the Owens hotel portion that it is water front (so it is really close/walking 3 minutes to ocean).
Also the hotel is close to the Jannette's Pier (about 6 minutes walk) which it is great for night fishing.
There is an excellent restaurant (Owens restaurant) right besides the hotel.
There is a small pool behind the restaurant (it is all part of the Owens hotel)
So if you stay in the ocean front portion of the hotel you have to cross the road to go to the pool and the restaurant.
The hotel room is very small with a very, very small bathroom. No tub but a shower.
There were a very old but working refrigerator and microwave.
AC worked just fine.
The views from the windows are a back alley and an front parking lot.
Also free parking right outside your door.
The TV was a new one.
The outlet mall is right behind the hotel.
In general old dated, small but clean room for decent price and close to manny amenities (walking distance)

Room Tip: It is only one level hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank idcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond VA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Owens Motel is nothing fancy but it's clean and convenient to the beach, Jeanette's Pier, Fat Boyz ice cream and burgers, and Cahoon's Market. All within a 2 block distance. This special place is truly "old school" Nags Head.

We stayed in a west side/courtyard room that was a great value. It looked recently refurbished (in the last 2 years maybe) with newer mattresses and a very decent bathroom. No room for toiletries as there is only a pedestal sink. Shower was pretty small but worked well. The beachside motel rooms look really tiny and older, but kitschy. I peeked inside while the cleaning lady had the door open.

Has everything you need - fridge, small microwave, coffee maker, nice TV and 150 yards to the beach. Didn't check out the pool.

All in all...great value and perfect location. I would absolutely return.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bhardypr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owensnagshead, Manager at Owens' Motel, responded to this review, July 21, 2016
Thank you so much for sending us feedback on Tripadvisor and staying with us at Owens Motel! We opened our motel in 1946 and has been family run for 70 years. Some of the older rooms are small, but like you said we try our hardest to keep them very, very clean. We appreciate your support and hope you will return to Owens soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Nothing fancy here. Just a motel, well at least where myself and my fishing buddies usually stay which is generally in the cheapest rooms they have. We are always happy with our accommodations though. Room is clean but not fancy. Like I said, perfect for fishing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Docalchemy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owensnagshead, Manager at Owens' Motel, responded to this review, July 21, 2016
Thank you Keegan for sending us feedback on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you staying with us when you come fishing! Please come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

It gets the job done. Right across from the ocean, yummy expensive restaurant to eat at, walking distance of the pier & icecream parlor. Very friendly staff, room attendants were very sweet ladies & did anything I asked. They even took the time to place my children's baby doll nice & neat on their bed.

Rooms are actually pretty dingy & dark, furniture is outdated, along with all of the decor...yes it's a taste of "old nags head" but it is in serious need of an upgrade or spruce up. There is a tasteful way to keep the old way of life down there without being too modern. Beds are not comfortable, comforter is kind of questionable.

The pool freaked me out a bit too. Right behind the restaurant (which is good I have to say it again) but all you smell as your swim is grease & of course all the dinner guests are walking by as you swim...awkward! Pool didn't seemed to get vaccumed, had lots of weird stuff always floating in it but if none of that matter you...then hey...enjoy!

Overall I would say the best thing about this place is convience but the price truly is not what you get at all! Too over priced for such bare minimal accommodations. I will be looking around for a "Better bang for my buck" next time!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank love2travelw2gals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

This was my first visit to Nags Heads, NC. We stayed in the Westside Courtyard of Owens Motel; I would have to say that I was displeased with my stay. The room had a faint smell of mildew as we entered the room. There were no toiletries available –hand soap, facial soap, shampoo/condition or hand location, nor facial tissue.
The space was small and there was no access to Wi-Fi in or around the surrounding area and there was no phone in the room to call for room service, but there was a phone book.
The location of the hotel was great not far from the Jennette’s Pier or the beachfront. For the value of the money I will have say, “You pay for want you get”. Room was small and again I will have to say that cleanliness was not on the high level if I smell mildew. Service I would have to say Staff was friendly when addressed but I can’t really say.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nags Head hotels

Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

I think the people writing bad reviews about this place are way to picky. Yeah the bathrooms are small and the picnic area is dated, so what, it's what you expect to pay for nothing more nothing less. I expect a clean room and a decent bed. That's what we got.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank pchack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
0.6 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#9 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
8.2 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
6.4 mi away
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
#12 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
3.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Owens' Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owens' Motel

Property: Owens' Motel
Address: 7115 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9127
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Owens' Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owens Motel is a family owned and operated motel that is located on the beach in South Nags Head. Clean, cozy rooms at affordable rates. Where families, fishermen, golfers and bikers are always welcome. Accomodations include oceanfront efficiencies, oceanside rooms, westside courtyard and westside rooms. The oceanfront barbeque grill and picnic are a favorite spot. Located directly across from the beach road, you'll find our clean, refreshing swimming pool. Daily maid service, air conditioning and cable TV are part of the ammenities that will make your stay memorable. The motel is located in the center of it all. Close to the Oregon Inlet Fishing Center, Pirates Cove Fishing Center, Jennettes Pier, Tanger Outlet Mall, Jockey Ridge State Park, The NC Aquarium, Elizabethan Gardens, Historic Manteo and the Lost Colony. Owens Restaurant, a AAA Three Diamond Award Restaurant is right next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Owens' Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Owens` Hotel Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing