We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 8th Year at the Colonial Inn”
Review of Colonial Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colonial Inn
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We visit the Outer Banks about 4 times a year and we stay at the Colonial Inn. It's a great location for a family with different interest, a day on the beach, fishing on the pier and shopping everything you need within a mile or walking distance. The staff at the Colonial Inn are great. They are our family away from home. They make us feel so welcome every visit with the air on in our room and yes they leave the light on when we check in late at night. The Colonial Inn is planning on a new makeover the first of the year. Which I'm looking forward too. The rooms are nice and very clean for the year that the Colonial was built. The rooms are just the size that you need, with plenty of place for clothes. The apartments were a great size for 6 people easy. Parking is hard at times however you will always have a space for you. The front desk makes sure that everyone is parked. They do have a over flow parking for the ones that bring more than 1 car. So if your looking to get away for a weekend or a week The Colonial is GREAT!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colonialinnmotel, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2011

Thank you so much for your kind comments! We love having you here and can't wait to see you again soon! We are looking forward to our renovation and in you enjoying the changes as well! Take care of you and yours and we will see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 327 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2011

Stayed for a week and couldn't have found a better place. Staff very friendly and helpful. Parking is tight but most places are. The rooms are just the size that you need, with plenty of place for clothes.
The apartments were a great size for 6 people easy. Had everything needed except food.
Will diffently be going back in April if not before.
Give this place a try.

Room Tip: I would try to stay at 3B or 4B if I needed an apartment size room. On ground floor and right at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BettyB2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Booked this motel for three nights on the Outer Banks - it was in a great location, right on the beach. I requested a ground floor room as my parents are elderly and we were given a two-bedroom apartment on the ground floor around the pool which was ideal. The apartment was pretty basic but clean and ok for just sleeping and showering. The pool was very nice and literally outside our door. However, on the third night there was a stag do, it seemed as though there were 15 men next door, I have no idea how many there actually were. I don't have a problem with stag do's as such, I've followed football all over the world and stayed in rowdy places. However, my parents are elderly and there were children in the motel. If I'm staying somewhere like Magaluf I wouldn't comment, but in a motel of this nature, when the noise and rowdy behaviour (RIGHT outside my window) went on until 3.30am, it's pretty unacceptable. I tried to call the front desk but it wasn't 24 hour. So short of going out there to face a crowd of drunks, we just had to put up with it. What made the whole thing worse, indeed why I'm even mentioning it, is that when I complained in the morning the staff said "oh, yes, it's the stag do" as though this was an acceptable explanation. It totally ruined the stay and I don't know if it's a regular practice but would warn people that this could happen.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whugirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

The Colonial was a tremendous value with basic old fashioned accommodations. The price was great and the staff was FABULOUS! We stayed there because the northern beaches, where our house was, were not accessible for a few days due to Hurricane Irene damage. Skip the breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sroaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

we stayed one night, the front desk was nice, but the entire Motel needed a remodel

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank leuteha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Col Inn in July 2004 and we loved it. The rooms were clean the staff was friendly and we had the best time. This past weekend we stayed there again because we loved it back in 2004. This time we had our kids with us. I can not say that I will ever stay there again. The rooms were dirty. There were flies all in the room, the sheets had tear and burn marks, there was a nasty spider laying by the beds, the beds were lumpy. We stayed because we had already pre paid. Never again we will do this.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank malexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I like this place. The front desk staff is generally nice and the rooms are comfortable. Internet is spotty, though....ask for a room near the front office if you need internet. The parking is also a bit tight. The beach is right there, the rates are very reasonable, and they were cool with my dog. What else can you ask for?

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyGuyUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
4.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Owens' Motel
Owens' Motel
#10 of 13 in Nags Head
127 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
493 reviews
3.6 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Inn

Address: 3329 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9267
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range: $63 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Inn is nestled at MP 11.5 On the oceanfront right next door to the Nags Head Fishing Pier. The hotel offers many different room types to accommodate every need. We are also pet friendly! There is a seasonal outdoor pool, a private beach access, refrigerators and microwaves in every room, as well as LG flat screen TVs. We also provide free YMCA passes at request, and free WIFI for our guests. We offer discounts for AAA, AARP members and run specials throughout the year. Historical sites, gift shops, and the outlet mall are just minutes away. Jockey's Ridge State Park is half a mile south and the Wright Brother's National Memorial is less than 4 miles away. Lucky 12 Tavern is in walking distance, and Tortugas' Lie Shellfish Bar & Grill is half a mile north of the Colonial Inn!If you are looking for Old World Charm in the heart of Nags Head, the Colonial Inn is the place for you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Nags Head
Colonial Motel Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing