We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little oceanfront Inn”
Review of Colonial Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colonial Inn
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Reviewed September 24, 2011

The Colonial was a tremendous value with basic old fashioned accommodations. The price was great and the staff was FABULOUS! We stayed there because the northern beaches, where our house was, were not accessible for a few days due to Hurricane Irene damage. Skip the breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sroaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
There are newer reviews for Colonial Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 323 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

we stayed one night, the front desk was nice, but the entire Motel needed a remodel

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank leuteha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Col Inn in July 2004 and we loved it. The rooms were clean the staff was friendly and we had the best time. This past weekend we stayed there again because we loved it back in 2004. This time we had our kids with us. I can not say that I will ever stay there again. The rooms were dirty. There were flies all in the room, the sheets had tear and burn marks, there was a nasty spider laying by the beds, the beds were lumpy. We stayed because we had already pre paid. Never again we will do this.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank malexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I like this place. The front desk staff is generally nice and the rooms are comfortable. Internet is spotty, though....ask for a room near the front office if you need internet. The parking is also a bit tight. The beach is right there, the rates are very reasonable, and they were cool with my dog. What else can you ask for?

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyGuyUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

I stayed here with my Husband and his brother and wife, the manager gave us a very reasonable rate in comparison to the other hotels in the area, and we were very last minute. The room was very spacious and very outdated. Not that that's a problem is just isn't a sheek modern looking place. I blew the circuit breaker blow drying my hair and in under 60 seconds of calling the front desk they had it back on for me. The room was very clean, the beach is right there and the staff was so friendly and sweet. I agree with other reviews that parking is horrible but it is what it is. It really didn't bother us that much, just use caution when backing out of your spot and it's all good. =)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vally1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

It was a wonderful time. The rooms were clean and we had everything we needed.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarisaChoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I have only two complaints the parking is terrible, even if you find a space hopefully you have a small car since the spaces are small. Our room did not have a coffee pot as advertised since it trips the circut breaker which we did every afternoon getting ready to go out. Kerri was great and fixed it each time very quickly and informed us they will be replaced in the fall. I was made to feel at home, enjoyed being so close to the beach and our pool was nice and clean. We got a msg from Kerri on our way home about house keeping finding a necklace both of us thought we had everything. When I returned her call we found out it was my friends and she was already putting it in the mail to my home. How great is that?

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wings45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
3.6 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#12 of 13 in Nags Head
182 reviews
4.1 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,567 reviews
1.8 mi away
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Inn

Address: 3329 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9267
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range: $99 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Inn is nestled at MP 11.5 On the oceanfront right next door to the Nags Head Fishing Pier. The hotel offers many different room types to accommodate every need. We are also pet friendly! There is a seasonal outdoor pool, a private beach access, refrigerators and microwaves in every room, as well as LG flat screen TVs. We also provide free YMCA passes at request, and free WIFI for our guests. We offer discounts for AAA, AARP members and run specials throughout the year. Historical sites, gift shops, and the outlet mall are just minutes away. Jockey's Ridge State Park is half a mile south and the Wright Brother's National Memorial is less than 4 miles away. Lucky 12 Tavern is in walking distance, and Tortugas' Lie Shellfish Bar & Grill is half a mile north of the Colonial Inn!If you are looking for Old World Charm in the heart of Nags Head, the Colonial Inn is the place for you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Nags Head
Colonial Motel Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing