We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so good......”
Review of Colonial Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colonial Inn
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Reviewed July 29, 2011

First off, parking is terrible there are not enough parking spaces for all the guests, and the overflow parking in 1 mile away, I am pregnant and with the temperature being in the high 90's it wasn't exactly ideal for me to have to walk a mile back to our room.

Secondly, we stayed for 2 nights and the guest beside us had a dog, and I'm not against having a pet friendly motel.... but the guests had there dog outside on the balcony (which is shared by all the guests in that area) we walked out the door of our room and the dog lunged at us. Not exactly ideal for children.

Thirdly, we brought our own towels and bed linens, on the first night we used our towels and housekeeping came in the next morning.... our towels were gone.

Not very clean either, and hotel staff leaves at 11 pm.... hope you don't need anything after 11!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mirnduh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 327 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed at Colonial Inn for a family trip to Nags Head. Our accommodations were spacious but best described as shabby, and certainly not cheap. Really needed some updating, especially the bathroom. The staff was pleasant, but no friendlier than most other people we encountered on our vacation. A good alternative if you don't want to (or can't afford to) be locked into a week-long rental, but didn't blow me away.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beaglemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

This was our 8th year we have been to the Colonial Inn,( sometimes 2 and 3 times a year). There has been 3 owners since we started coming and all have been great. The GM, Kerri, is the best. She will bend over backwards to make your stay comfortable, enjoyable and relaxing. Tonya, Kendra, Pinky, Anna Jean and the rest of the staff are just as wonderful. You feel like you have known them all your life. The pool is clean and refreshing after a long day at the beach, which is just over the sand dune. There is nothing fancy about the room, but it is always clean and how much time will you spend in there? Housekeeping and clean towels offered everyday. As long as there is a Colonial Inn Motel, we will continue to make it our second home. LOVE THIS PLACE.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are quiet, courtside rooms are comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDYRCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Colonial Inn. The room was clean and the staff was very accommodating. Also, the motel is centrally located near lots of site-seeing locations.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brittain4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

This hotel was great, I had my doubts but was wrong, the rooms are clean and the management is great will help you out anyway they can, the beach is right there so no hiking to the beach for a swim. They have a really clean pool that is a nice relive after the beach, oh and a FREE breakfast can't beat that. But really a nice place that does not empty your wallet.

- room #2

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aalst10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

The room was very clean. The staff was very freindly and helpful. It is next door to a fishing and resturant.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe57790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

I have stayed in their 'standerd room', 'effeciency' and 2 of the pool-side 'apartments'. Each room was clean and linens were fresh. The staff was SUPERB! Kerri was Great! She is sooooooooooooo accommodating.
I have stayed there 6-7 times and will continue to stay at the Coloniai Inn and recommend the Colonial Inn to everyone,
The Colonial Inn is just like home--you can't not like the place and you will ALWAYS feel comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kchase6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
4.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
909 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
443 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
496 reviews
3.6 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Inn

Address: 3329 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9267
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range: $75 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Inn is nestled at MP 11.5 On the oceanfront right next door to the Nags Head Fishing Pier. The hotel offers many different room types to accommodate every need. We are also pet friendly! There is a seasonal outdoor pool, a private beach access, refrigerators and microwaves in every room, as well as LG flat screen TVs. We also provide free YMCA passes at request, and free WIFI for our guests. We offer discounts for AAA, AARP members and run specials throughout the year. Historical sites, gift shops, and the outlet mall are just minutes away. Jockey's Ridge State Park is half a mile south and the Wright Brother's National Memorial is less than 4 miles away. Lucky 12 Tavern is in walking distance, and Tortugas' Lie Shellfish Bar & Grill is half a mile north of the Colonial Inn!If you are looking for Old World Charm in the heart of Nags Head, the Colonial Inn is the place for you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Nags Head
Colonial Motel Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing