We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Colonial Inn
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront(Nags Head)(Great Value!)
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$180
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$288
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Owens' Motel(Nags Head)
$143
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (332)
Filter reviews
332 results
Traveler rating
101
101
53
41
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
101
53
41
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfishing pierocean frontthe outer bankslate at nightthe staff was extremely friendlyrooms are cleaneach morningfull kitchenoceanfront rooman older hotelbeachduneobxdeckmicrowavesand
Filter
Updating list...
315 - 320 of 332 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2011

You just can't beat the Colonial Inn in Nags Head, if you're looking for nice clean rooms, great pool, convenient location (right next to the Nags Head Pier), and top notch Customer Service!
We've tried staying in the big homes, with dozens of family members.... and this year we happily decided to return to the Colonial Inn! We have our privacy, and we're treated like GOLD!! Kerri is amazing!
Very HIGHLY recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sherbear905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

My wife and I had a great time. The rooms were nice, clean and the staff was terrific. The lady that runs the Colonial (Keri) was/is one of the nicest people we have ever met. We have already made reservation for another trip later this summer.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richmond60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

I contacted the motel for a room, and we all bonded over our love for NCIS! Kerri is a person you never forget. She is so concerned about your vacation, and having the best time you can. She knows so much about the islands and shares her knowledge about restaurants, attractions, etc.

You can tell she really loves her work.

She made this a stay we won't forget. We'll be back again and again.

Her husband was very personable and we had some good discussions about fishing, ships, you name it. The office is a social scene all day. Everyone wants to talk to them!!

You'll never feel more welcome - like part of their family. You can't go wrong here!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alberter65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

This was our second trip to the Colonial Inn Motel. We love the location, just next to the Nags Head Fishing Pier. The rooms are a great size to enjoy some family time at the beach. The motel was clean and the staff was friendly. The pictures of the rooms on their website were great. Our room looked just like it! We loved it! If you are looking for a great place to stay, this is the place!

Room Tip: Plan ahead and book early!
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeeScho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We stayed at the Colonial Inn Motel for four nights. Miss Carrie is the manager and she is one special lady. Always willing to help you no matter what you need assistance with. From the best places to eat to where to find anything you might want or need. She has quite a little spread layed out for breakfast just in case you want to eat in your room or sitting on the bench in front of your room enjoying a beautiful morning. My son did some cooking in our room, anything he needed for cooking that wasn't already in the kitchen he was able to get by just asking. We have found our favorite new place to stay on the OBX. Very friendly staff, always ready to help you. And we were treated like we were family over there on vacation. You won't find nicer or more accomodating people on the beach! My tiny Yorkie Teddy was also treated like family, he was much loved during our stay. He loved going to the office to see the staff. He got a whole bunch of attention and loved every minute of it. If you want to take your dog with you this is the place to go, they are very pet friendly and animal lovers themselves. They allow pets because they love them and have them too. Free breakfast every morning includes muffins, juice boxes for the little one's, coffee(and it is good!) granola bars, donuts, fruit, and a surprise now and then. Very nice selection and it's free. Hospitality is amazing!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teddysmom428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews