We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Cute beach motel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Foam Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Foam Motel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cute beach motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a night and had a great time. Booking the room was easy and the staff member i spoke to was very helpful as i asked about rooms for 3 families. The pool was clear and the shallow attached kids pool was a nice surprise. We had room 4 next to the office and it had 2 doubles and a kitchenette. The room was clean and well appointed. There was free coffee in the morning in 2 locations. I only interacted with 1 staff member on site who was very helpful (the manager's boyfriend) and the others were nice about us walking through the lobby over and over to avoid rain and visit friends. There were no bugs in our room and the carpet seemed clean and newer. Overall it was a nice stay, affordable, great to be able to book just 1 night and we would go back again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LandJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    86
    16
    18
    19
See reviews for
88
65
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed at the Sea Foam in July of 2014. We had a great time! It's a blast from the past!! Rarely do you find a family owned, family oriented motel that is clean and well maintained. But this is it! Our door opened up right onto the sand dunes, where the kids played in the sand. We loved sitting outside of our room, drinking coffee, and enjoying the ocean breeze. After coming off the beach, we spent the evening at the pool, playing corn hole, and chatting with other vacationers who had been staying at the Sea Foam for 30 years! We will be going back next year!

Room Tip: First Floor oceanfront rooms open right onto the sand dunes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank basproles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed here and had a great time. It was a rainy weekend, but we still enjoyed ourselves. It is near the beach (we can see it from our room), has an outside shower for self and feet along the path from the beach to the hotel, and has many amenities: Pool, shuffleboard, Cornhole, coffee, free wifi, etc. Our room has a front porch area and a private back porch area with an ocean view. In addition, there are many nearby places to eat, shop (a great home-town grocery store that has all you may have forgotten), entertain (bike rentals, etc. Some things I hope are better for our next visit: Water pressure (it occasionally dropped to a fast drip in the shower), and my knowledge of the surroundings (I saw they allowed dogs, so next visit, we may bring our puppy), and the weather. The people are VERY nice here. One caveat - this is not the Hyatt, it's a beach motel, but as a beach motel, it's one of our favorites.

Room Tip: Ask for a poolside upper deck room where you can still see the ocean from your back porch balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We have been staying here for 4 years now and my grandkids won't stay anywhere else. We have met so many nice families staying there. We enjoy the laid back feeling, never rushed and don't even feel like we have to lock the door. We have always had great service from the front desk and the housekeeping staff. Only wish we could stay longer. It's not perfect but it is what we enjoy and look forward to. I tell my friends about it all the time. Love to stay in the cottage units. Have stayed in the rooms on first and second floor, efficiency and the cottage unit, so we have tried them all.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angelbrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

We decided to stay in town for a second night and the Travelodge we had been at the night before was full. This was one of the cheapest mom and pop motels with a vacancy so we checked it out. The room was located on the second floor in the front corner facing the parking lot. We could have had one facing the ocean but it was about $30 more. The carpeting and other fixtures were dated but adequate. The shower ran lukewarm for me but was much warmer for my son 30 minutes later. The staff was friendly and the location was excellent. We discovered that many of the occupants return here every year and enjoy the location.

Room Tip: Room 43 is very large and roomy if you don't need an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

We've just returned from a two night stay, and wish we would have booked another. Sea Foam isn't a new motel, but it shows its age gracefully and has so much character. From our enclosed balcony we had a perfect view of the beach, and screen doors on either end of the room allow for a constant breeze. In the oceanfront rooms the huge picture window allows you to wake with the sun rising over the sea, a beautiful experience.

Once we asked for a cot or rollaway and were provided a very nice auto-inflatable mattress. When my daughter left something in the room after checkout, the staff found it and were able to return it to me, states away. Every interaction with the staff from the booking to our needs during the stay was pleasant.

This was our second visit to Sea Foam, and we'll definitely be returning again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra few dollars for a second floor oceanfront room. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yarg317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

My daughters and I reserved a room at the Seafoam in August 2013 based on photos and speaking with staff by phone. When we arrived we were disgusted and freaked out. The place was extremely run down, in need of every possible update. We were too tired to look elsewhere and decided to try it for one night. We slept in our clothing, did not bring our bags in from our car and made a quick get-away in the morning. The bathroom and shower were old and did not seem clean. The room decor was old, not "vintage"; nothing about the place was cute or comfortable. We would never stay there again nor would we recommend it to friends. I did not find the staff to be helpful or friendly once we arrived.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank diana s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
0.6 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Owens' Motel
Owens' Motel
#13 of 13 in Nags Head
3.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
8.2 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Foam Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Foam Motel

Property: Sea Foam Motel
Address: 7111 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9127
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 51
Also Known As:
Sea Foam Hotel Nags Head
Sea Foam Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing