We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great family vacation spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Foam Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Foam Motel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
1 review
“Great family vacation spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We have been staying here for 4 years now and my grandkids won't stay anywhere else. We have met so many nice families staying there. We enjoy the laid back feeling, never rushed and don't even feel like we have to lock the door. We have always had great service from the front desk and the housekeeping staff. Only wish we could stay longer. It's not perfect but it is what we enjoy and look forward to. I tell my friends about it all the time. Love to stay in the cottage units. Have stayed in the rooms on first and second floor, efficiency and the cottage unit, so we have tried them all.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angelbrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    88
    16
    18
    19
See reviews for
88
66
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belmont
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

We decided to stay in town for a second night and the Travelodge we had been at the night before was full. This was one of the cheapest mom and pop motels with a vacancy so we checked it out. The room was located on the second floor in the front corner facing the parking lot. We could have had one facing the ocean but it was about $30 more. The carpeting and other fixtures were dated but adequate. The shower ran lukewarm for me but was much warmer for my son 30 minutes later. The staff was friendly and the location was excellent. We discovered that many of the occupants return here every year and enjoy the location.

Room Tip: Room 43 is very large and roomy if you don't need an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

We've just returned from a two night stay, and wish we would have booked another. Sea Foam isn't a new motel, but it shows its age gracefully and has so much character. From our enclosed balcony we had a perfect view of the beach, and screen doors on either end of the room allow for a constant breeze. In the oceanfront rooms the huge picture window allows you to wake with the sun rising over the sea, a beautiful experience.

Once we asked for a cot or rollaway and were provided a very nice auto-inflatable mattress. When my daughter left something in the room after checkout, the staff found it and were able to return it to me, states away. Every interaction with the staff from the booking to our needs during the stay was pleasant.

This was our second visit to Sea Foam, and we'll definitely be returning again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra few dollars for a second floor oceanfront room. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yarg317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

My daughters and I reserved a room at the Seafoam in August 2013 based on photos and speaking with staff by phone. When we arrived we were disgusted and freaked out. The place was extremely run down, in need of every possible update. We were too tired to look elsewhere and decided to try it for one night. We slept in our clothing, did not bring our bags in from our car and made a quick get-away in the morning. The bathroom and shower were old and did not seem clean. The room decor was old, not "vintage"; nothing about the place was cute or comfortable. We would never stay there again nor would we recommend it to friends. I did not find the staff to be helpful or friendly once we arrived.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank diana s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

We just returned from a week long stay with our eleven year old granddaughter and had a great time. The hotel is not fancy, but it has the best location - right on the beach. The beds were comfortable, so we slept great. One night was a little cool out with a nice breeze and we opened the sliding glass door and could listen to the waves crashing on the beach, which was so relaxing. We had an efficiency with a full size fridge, so we were able to save a little money by having breakfast and lunch in the room. The pool area is very nice too. The office staff and our housekeeper Vonda were helpful and friendly. Overall a great stay - my granddaughter was disappointed that we couldn't stay longer.

Room Tip: Room 42, a corner efficiency on the second floor has a great view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CA_Morrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hedgesville, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

During my husband's shower, he was constantly scalded & frozen by the variant water temperature. We called the front desk at 6pm and were sent to voicemail. I left a message asking for assistance with the water temp. I also explained on my voicemail that we have an infant and a child that we are unable to bathe for fear of scalding water. At 9:10pm, I called back again, but they had closed at 9pm. I left another voicemail stating we needed assistance and were unable to bathe our children. I also explained we were a bit upset by the large cockroach we found in the bathroom.
I had hoped that someone would be spot checking messages overnight in case a guest needed assistance, but we received no call. It was a sleepless night. (not to mention the drop ceiling that lifted up when the breeze came through- we could just envision bugs falling on us in our sleep).
The next morning, we packed up as fast as we could. Still, no one had called us back (husband had been in our room the whole time, waiting for someone to come). At 8:56am, I went to the office. There were staff inside but they still had their CLOSED sign flipped. The door was unlocked, so I entered. (was told they don't open until 9am; what kind of hospitality doesn't open until 9 in the morning!?)
I explained the entire situation. The gentleman at the desk was not able to explain any of my issues nor why no one called or came to check on us. As for the roach, one of the girls said, “Oh, that’s a water bug.” I told her we had it trapped in the bathroom for them to inspect. I did a little research & turns out- what they call ‘water bugs’ are Palmetto bugs which are roaches. They ran my card, offering no discounts for our night of misery. Can you imagine spending a day at Busch Gardens in 85 degree heat with sweat & bugs and not being able to get your kids clean, then send them to bed when you know there are bugs? I asked that a manager call me. Surprise, surprise- no one ever called.
Now, we aren’t used to fancy rooms with high end amenities. We stayed a night at the Holiday Inn and felt like it was the Ritz. That being said, this was our worst vacation experience ever.
Oh, and there was a stray cat with kittens running about outside our room all night!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lgraceme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Sea Foam Motel is a pleasant change from the predictable, cookie-cutter hotel/motel chains. The motel is located on a beautiful stretch of beach and is close to Jennette Pier and plenty of great restaurants. The next time we're in Nags Head, we plan to book a room at the motel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Marybeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
0.6 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
3.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
7.3 mi away
Outer Banks Inn
Outer Banks Inn
#10 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
9.3 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Foam Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Foam Motel

Property: Sea Foam Motel
Address: 7111 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9127
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 51
Also Known As:
Sea Foam Hotel Nags Head
Sea Foam Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing