We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time - Motel is right on the beach”
Review of Sea Foam Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Foam Motel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Sea Foam Motel is a pleasant change from the predictable, cookie-cutter hotel/motel chains. The motel is located on a beautiful stretch of beach and is close to Jennette Pier and plenty of great restaurants. The next time we're in Nags Head, we plan to book a room at the motel.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank Marybeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 236 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014

Repeat customer; stayed in a bottom floor room, with a room above us. Floors are weak, heard people walking and running above us all week. Shower water is a potluck, goes from hot to cold back to warm, constantly. Bathroom sink leaked underneath. (instead of replacing sink, it is painted!) Carpet in room smells musty; most likely black mold underneath, as was on ceiling in bathroom. Some days room was cleaned early, other days in the afternoon (and we did use the clean room now hand-tag every morning as we left the room). Pool water was muggy when we arrived on Saturday, and eventually they closed it on Thursday; it remained closed even when we checked out on Saturday. No free WI-FI for 4 days. Rusted a/c units in windows, no chairs available outside our room. Television had a blue/green haze to the picture. Fridge had no door on the freezer top area. For 3 days hoses were left strung across the walkway to the gazebo, just waiting to trip people; promises made by cleaning staff not followed through. Gazebo stayed covered with sand and the steps to the beach were all sand. Gutters rotting off edge of roof; entire motel needs facelift. Seafoam is in bad shape, guess that's what happens with new management.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank buggin00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

This is not a fancy place, it is on the beach! Walk out of your room and you are there. I have been staying here every year for the pat 10 years. There have definitely been some upgrades. If you want maid service you have to put your door hanger out by 9 am or you. Are out of luck. This motel comes without extras like small bottles of shampoo or body wash or hair dryer so be sure to bring your own.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is the only place we stay in OBX! An old school feel right on the ocean is the perfect getaway. The view is amazing, the staff is friendly, and the rooms are always clean. Every vacation has been a great experience thanks to Sea Foam!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blyons08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I love the Sea Foam Motel, It's what old Nags Head is all about. Don't expect a chain motel with a restaurant etc. This place is meant for those who truly love being on the beach and use the room to sleep and shower. The staff is awesome, rooms are clean. Kid friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Penni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Family friendly older motel with oceanfront rooms, swimming pool, and a great staff. If you like fishing its walking distance to the Nags Head Fishing Pier.They go out of their way to make your beach vacation a great memory and if your like me you will return. Because of their great rates we often make multiple trips during the season.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank william c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We have stayed at this motel 2 years in a row... The rooms are a great size especially room number 5.. We did not request maid service during our stay, just fresh towels daily... Manager tracy is great... Very friendly and accomodating staff... This is a great place to stay without breaking the budget... We plan to go again soon... If you want big and fancy this is not it but if you want comfortable and affordable and great for kids this is it..

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimdrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
0.5 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,595 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Owens' Motel
Owens' Motel
#11 of 13 in Nags Head
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in Nags Head
183 reviews
9.3 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Foam Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Foam Motel

Address: 7111 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9127
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Price Range: $62 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 51
Also Known As:
Sea Foam Hotel Nags Head
Sea Foam Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing