We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sea Foam Motel
Nearby Hotels
Colonial Inn(Nags Head)
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront(Nags Head)(Great Value!)
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$288
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Owens' Motel(Nags Head)
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Surf Side Hotel(Nags Head)(Great Value!)
$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveler rating
90
90
20
19
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
90
90
20
19
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscreen doorthe outer bankssecond floorold schooljeannette's pierholiday innocean viewprivate balconynice pooloff seasondefinitely stay here againfull kitchenstaff was very friendlygazebobeachsandmicrowave
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 238 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was my favorite hotel on the Outer Banks but on my two last visits, my experience was much less positive than previously. The property does not appear to be maintained as it should be and it is getting really iffy. The bathrooms and room furniture are very tired and many outside areas could use a coat of paint. In addition, we have had the same problem on the two last visits with noisy neighbors (soundproofing of rooms has always been poor at that motel). Talking to the neighbors did not help and since the office appeared to be closed at night, we had no recourse against that. I hope that management will bring back that property to the level of quality that we can again enjoy. Until then, we'll pass.

Room Tip: If you book a room on the first floor, a dune will block your view of the ocean
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank go27560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is a cool, but old school motel. Our room was on the first floor, pool side and quite affordable to be "on" the beach in August. The mattress was new and very comfortable. The room was clean although this IS right at the beach and it IS very old, so do not be surprised if it smells musty. I stayed in this motel in the late 1970's. It's layout is still the same. It is right on the beach, so even the pool side rooms are just seconds from standing at the edge of the ocean.

If you are bothered by a bit of peeling paint and a few musty odors, this is not your place. If you want a more authentic Old Nags Head experience, give the Sea Foam a go!

Room Tip: Second floor ocean front have the best view but all rooms are seconds from the beach.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

great place,good service,very clean only thing that could of used upgrade was the beds,little too soft,and kinda short for 6 feet or taller adult.had nice clean pool,shuffleboard and cornhole games ,fish cleaning station o
and two ice machines

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Like stepping back in time. Loved the staff and other travelers. Not a slick modern chain hotel, but a unique treasure. Highly recommend. Oceanfront room was wonderful and we enjoyed our stay. Great location to stores and restaurants too.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PR M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We first stayed here in 1988. Have stayed here since 2000 for a week in July. We don't stay for a luxury room or a Ritz type atmosphere. We stay for the Beach, and the Pool and just to enjoy the OBX experience. I could go into a list of small complaints, but they are minor compared to the enjoyment we get from the location. Our families biggest complaint is they could update the TV's for evening viewing. Not many huge changes since '88 but this is a National Historic Landmark. When a issue has come up, it was taken care of promptly. It is was it is, a basic room with a great location and an awesome Beach, and clean pool.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DTK57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews