We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great informal spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sea Foam Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Foam Motel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
St. Croix
Level Contributor
109 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great informal spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2007

Loved Nags Head. Hotel is simple but nice. Situated literally on the beach. Would have liked a little more privacy but loved it and would definitely return.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank crabgroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    89
    16
    18
    19
See reviews for
88
67
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2007

This place was perfect for a weekend at the beach. I had a upstairs pool side room, and to my surprise there was a balcony with chairs and a good side view of the ocean. The room was clean, the bathroom clean, and everyone was friendly. The beds were not the most comfortable, but the hotel had a wonderful charm you don't find staying in chain motels. I was disappointed the beach wasn't better in this area. I am used to the beach around Hatteras, and this part seemed very narrow. However, it was right on the beach and there was plenty of room to lay out on the sand. There are stores and restaurants close by, but this area still isn't too crowded. I would stay here again!

  • Liked — Right on the beach
  • Disliked — Nothing, it was great!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank choover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2007

Great retro experience. Nothing fancy, but neat and clean and very 1950s. The oceanfront room is not to be missed if you can get one. Literally park at the front door, walk into the room, walk out the back door onto the beach. The service was friendly and efficient. We extended our stay one night and had to move to one of the efficiencies toward the street and that experience was much less enjoyable - the room was not as clean and the abundance of wood panelling and aging infrastructure was a lot more in evidence here. Recommended IF you can get one of the wonderful oceanfront rooms.

  • Liked — it's right on the ocean, no bridge or boardwalk to cross
  • Disliked — inconsistent cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank danakate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2007

It's not a five-star hotel, but it doesn't need to be. The Sea Foam is in an excellent location on the beach in Nags Head, and it has all the bare necessities for a really reasonable price. The two minor nits I'd make are the lack of parking and the thin walls if you have noisy neighbors. Otherwise, the pool, shuffleboard, and outdoor seating spaces are excellent.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheesehead9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawford, Colorado
Level Contributor
96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2007

The Sea Foam is a welcome step back in time to when motels were convenient to your car and the feeling was welcoming rather than you are simply another customer to stick in a box. Built in the late
'50's, you can park in front of the room and easily bring luggage in. The room is simply furnished, but most modern amenities are included. It's pretty good size unlike the small rooms more common in the '50's. It was lacking Magic Fingers, but I never have tried that, so no loss. Our room was on the beach with a large picture window and a door to the beach; open the door, leave the screen door closed, and listen to the surf. We avoid those soulless boxes so favored by the chains—the worst combination of hotel and motel in one—so this was just what we look for in travels. Some rooms are not on the beach, so book early during high season. This motel is on the national register of historic places and I'm a lot older than the motel, so I guess 'm a relic.

  • Liked — Beach, real motel
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank CrawfordGene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2007

This was a perfect vacation for us. Our room was facing the beautiful, pristine beach. Will always have wonderful memories of this little seaside inn!

  • Liked — Good value, location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2003, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kjsdunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2007

We rolled in really late one night without a reservation, and the staff was so friendly and welcoming to us. The room was really nice -- clean, comfortable, and homey. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — We were right on the beach, and I loved that our room was like a small apartment rather than a typical hotel-chain room.
  • Disliked — I'm always concerned about the plumbing in older hotels, but we had no problems here.
  • Stayed September 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Plaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
0.5 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
3.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
9.3 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#8 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Foam Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Foam Motel

Property: Sea Foam Motel
Address: 7111 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9127
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 51
Also Known As:
Sea Foam Hotel Nags Head
Sea Foam Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing