We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big breakfast, small price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dunes Restaurant

The Dunes Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 80 Restaurants in Nags Head
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: This local, Outer Banks restaurant is now in it's 34th anniversary season. That's probably why it's called a 'Nags Head Tradition' by locals. Open for breakfast and dinner daily. Weekends - spring and fall - and daily in the summer season, there's a robust fruit and breakfast bar plus some whopping good breakfast platters. Specialties are real southern cooking - like fried chicken. Also a specialty - local, Outer Banks seafood - broiled, fried, and always good. Steaks and prime rib round out the dinner menu. The "R" Bar is great for a late night meal or a special drink. And if all this isn't enough, there's Roxie's Retail - great, flirty finds for your home or wardrobe. It's a family run organization that is glad to welcome locals and vacationers alike.
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Big breakfast, small price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Got a big delicious breakfast (2 huge pancakes, 2 fluffy eggs, and a good portion of hashbrowns) for 5 bucks. I could have gone the rest of the day without eating. Staff was very friendly.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kmb614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    184
    95
    38
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great OBX Beach Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We love all the great items made to order off of the menu and the kids love the great breakfast menu. Our coffee mugs always stay filled by the great wait staff. We go there quite a bit. We are locals from KDH.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Try it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Good service, a gracious welcome and food that isn't fancy but was well prepared. We'd definitely go back for breakfast.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greencastle, Indiana
Level Contributor
233 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good Service and Good Food, but Hushpuppies not up to par”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Our waitress this trip was Lyudmula and she was very nice and prompt. The place was not busy this evening, probably due to being in the off season. I raved about this place and their hushpuppies to a friend. we went there this trip and the hushpuppies were not the same, they were real rubbery and small. When we come each July, my husband could make a meal on these, but sad to say, they have changed. My friend tried the pimento burger and she said it was really good. My steamed shrimp was good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Luvs2Travel5914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
249 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Advertised on restaurant.com and didn't accept certificate”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We frequently buy certificates from restaurant.com when we're going to be out of town. We read reviews from other travelers and look at the specific menu for the restaurant. We liked the menu for The Dunes, the reviews were good, and we purchased a certificate in February on restaurant.com. When we were in the Outer Banks in February the restaurant was closed, but that wasn't a problem because we own property in Nags Head and knew we'd be returning. Last weekend the restaurant was open, but no longer accpeted the restaurant.com certificates. They may have wonderful food, but we did not stay. In our opinion this was a very poor business practice for a restaurant and very deceitful. Be aware if you have a certificate you paid for and the restaurant has received the funds, the Dunes Restaurant no longer participates in the restaurant.com program.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank pitt_twins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dunes Restaurant also viewed

 
Nags Head, Outer Banks
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 
Nags Head, Outer Banks
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 

Been to The Dunes Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing