We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beachy fun place with great food!”

Tortugas' Lie Shellfish Bar
Ranked #7 of 81 Restaurants in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups, Jamaican, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
63 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beachy fun place with great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

The bar was very popular evening we were there, with folks watching football playoffs. I got teriyaki burger with cheese, pineapple, delicious! Husband got the cocoloco chicken breast rolled in coconut, very good, came with black beans, rice and salsa. Delicious, fun atmosphere, fun to read all the license plates on the wall. This is not a fancy place by any means, but good food! Recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyinVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    572
    325
    84
    28
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Sushi at Tortugas' Lies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Wednesday night is Sushi night at Tortugas' Lies. The selection is really varied. I especially liked the Yellow Fin Tuna Sashimi and the Rainbow Roll. Everything made with Smoked Salmon was also excellent. The service was quick, in fact much faster than the Japanese Restaurant I normally frequent. I had a Guinness with the Sushi which was a complimentary flavor. My spouse enjoyed the Fish Tacos which also were delicious. We topped the meal off with Key Lime Pie which was very authentic in flavor and texture. The restaurant is very relaxed and very friendly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ncpeterson2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Bar, Great Fish Tacos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

My wife and I tried this establishment while visiting my family at their beach house looking to try something new. It is a small place that gives a very local vibe which is perfect at the beach. The staff is friendly and helpful. The bar area is a great place to have a few drinks. The mahi fish tacos were very good. Make sure to grab a bottle of their in-house made Habanero Peppa sauce. Perfect amount of hot and flavor!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Agree with those who really like it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We went for lunch and got there just before the crowd arrived. Fast, friendly service and reasonable prices for lunch, generous portions. We had the fish tacos and the blackened tuna sandwich and they were both delicious. A bit noisy and very casual.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Discobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cold local brew and a great photo!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

So we drove down from Corolla to see Tortuga's Lie because of the show Diners, Drive Ins and Dives ... with the combination of cold local brew and great fresh food ... the Lie did not disappoint. Upscale, no ... a dinner to remember for a reasonable price ... YES. It is a "must do" on the Outer Banks!

Helpful?
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tortugas' Lie Shellfish Bar also viewed

 

Been to Tortugas' Lie Shellfish Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing