We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must go if you haven't already!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tortugas' Lie Shellfish Bar

Tortugas' Lie Shellfish Bar
Ranked #7 of 80 Restaurants in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups, Jamaican, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Must go if you haven't already!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I have been going to Tortugas since I was 5 and have loved it every year. The atmosphere is awesome with all of the license plates on the wall. They have great drinks for kids and adults! I recommend the shark drink for the kids - it also comes in an adult version. The coco loco chicken is great along with their veggie burger. It does get packed pretty early so I recommend going right at 11 when they open for lunch or go around 430 for dinner if you want to get a table and eat! Servers are always nice and it's just a great place to visit when you're at the Outer Banks!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sarah22092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    558
    322
    83
    27
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
102 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Steamer Bar!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We first found Tortugas' Lie years before we started reviewing on TripAdvisor. On a dark, humid evening we were looking for a place to eat late after kayaking on the oyster beds. We found this cinder block bar with cold beer, and delicious steamed clams. It was so good we brought our whole family back the next day. They went away raving too.

Fast forward 5 or 6 years and we are back at OBX and looking for our steamer fix. It is still a great beach bar with good food. It has a full menu along with a steamer bar menu too. All the food from the hummus to salads to the clams are very tasty. There are several vegetarian options as well. It is open from 11:30 on. In the following years it has gotten crowded, so be prepared for a wait, but they rotate the tables fairly often. If you want to avoid the wait, go about 30 minutes before the regular meal time. We walked right in with a part of 7 at 11:40AM. But at 11:45AM, the wait was out the door.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FollowingHistory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Creative Fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

This restaurant was right around the corner from our rental house on the Outer Banks. It is a small establishment but well worth the wait. My 3 girl friends and I went for lunch. I did not rate this with 5 circles because I was expecting more seafood on the menu. I was really wanting some good shrimp, preferably fried. There was one ship item on the lunch menu and it looked deliciously complicated. Instead I had one of the hamburgers with a delectable sauce. Two of my friends had the fish tacos and were happy with their meals. We had steamed clams and another appetizer served with an excellent sweet chili sauce. The ingredients were obviously fresh and put together with care. The menu is well thought-out and it's about upper/average expense-wise. We did especially enjoy one of our friend's drinks that came with a shark filled with grenadine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wysteria1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

First time in this area, had dinner at TL, food was awesome, chili wings and steamed shrimp, and Amanda provided great service. Will definitely be back. Beer was super cold....loved it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MITraveler1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manlius, NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Bar with food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Place was good and fun but it is more bar than food. Food was good, but nothing special. What you would expect at the beach. In short, if you are looking for a very good meal there are better options. As a bar it is very good, good tap selection and environment.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tortugas' Lie Shellfish Bar also viewed

 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Tortugas' Lie Shellfish Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing