We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and View!”
Review of Tale of The Whale

Tale of The Whale
Ranked #4 of 85 Restaurants in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Family owned and operated for 33 years, we serve the finest and freshest local seafood, choice steaks, salads, pastas, chicken and more. We pay attention to every detail to ensure your meal is memorable and delicious! Enjoy casual dining overlooking the Roanoke Sound, and live music (in season) in our waterfront gazebo. Come early and enjoy your favorite cocktail outdoors overlooking the water, or in our indoor bar. We offer an extensive wine list, a lighter fare menu, childrens’ menu and more. We welcome children, families and parties of all sizes, and offer comfortable booths for a romantic dinner for two. We look forward to serving you!
Kenhorst, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food and View!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Had a great dinner and such a great view!! Everyone was so nice. Can not wait to go back this year! They are only open for dinner and you must get there just before they open.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    544
    140
    64
    31
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Typical large 90s seafood place”
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Don't waste a vacation night eating dinner here. Seafood was average, water view awesome, staff seemed over whelmed but tried hard. Prices seemed high here for what I ate at other seafood places that week.

Helpful?
2 Thank bill25ecu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mediocre at best”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Cheap eats here are mediocre at best beginning with salad greens made with limp browned iceberg lettuce. Entree was soggy fried fish. Ambience is totally lacking. Only saving grace was a friendly server. Not worth time or money.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food and Overall Experience”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The food and overall experience was so great that we ate at the Tale of the Whale 3 out of the 7 nights that we were on vacation. Everyone in our family is over the age of 24 so I cannot give an accurate rating for taking children there, I can however say that it is a "white table cloth" restaurant and saw very few children there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank N U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful ambience, value and food”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We started going because of the 20% discount early bird special,but now we go for the total package of atmosphere, food and service. They have one of the largest menus on the Outer Banks. One intriguing item is your choice of fish of the day prepared 3 different ways. There is nice selection of sides including a vegetable of the day- our day was broccoli florets seasoned with garlic and butter- delicious. The seafood is fresh, firm, well-cooked, the hushpuppies divine. Karen, our waitress, brought a dessert tray with at least 8 different items on it, but the meal was more than enough. She provided for all of our needs through the meal in a most helpful, friendly manner. The tables have lovely white tablecloths- a rarity at the beach. So while we do still take advantage of the discount, the whole experience is excellent at any price.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice Coy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tale of The Whale also viewed

 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Tale of The Whale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing