We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great restaurant and great jewelry in it!!!”
Review of Tale of The Whale

Tale of The Whale
Ranked #4 of 81 Restaurants in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family owned and operated for 33 years, we serve the finest and freshest local seafood, choice steaks, salads, pastas, chicken and more. We pay attention to every detail to ensure your meal is memorable and delicious! Enjoy casual dining overlooking the Roanoke Sound, and live music (in season) in our waterfront gazebo. Come early and enjoy your favorite cocktail outdoors overlooking the water, or in our indoor bar. We offer an extensive wine list, a lighter fare menu, childrens’ menu and more. We welcome children, families and parties of all sizes, and offer comfortable booths for a romantic dinner for two. We look forward to serving you!
Lorraine, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great restaurant and great jewelry in it!!!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Loved every meal, from the seafood my wife ate, and greatly recommended from the waiter there (great service from him, don't remember his name, just ask the waiver who served a french canadian family lately, and he'll tell you who he is...), I ate a great steak, kids loved it too. Great view, great cozy restaurant with dimmed lighting, nice dock, honestly, we will be back. And to add to it, there's a really nice gentleman who sells his great looking jewelry just before you go in the restaurant, nice enough to let people choose their jewelry, bring it in the resto without paying it just to be sure they like it and pay it after. Of course...let's hope everybody are honest enough and seem that they are. I know we were. Really informative and nice. Tough to not buy anything from this place. Seem that they deliver to so....Great experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    495
    134
    60
    29
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Great views, OK food.”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

There were seven of us and we were seated in the large party room, along with few other much larger parties. It was loud but not too bad after the party behind us left. We had a pleasant time but somehow felt that being seated elsewhere would provide one a much better dining experience.

The food is good but on the expensive side. Warm bread is served with butter, the fish and steaks were tasty but uninspiring, the views pleasant though not of the sunset.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dimitri7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Quiet Waterfront Meal”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The ambience can't be beat for this white-table cloth restaurant located on the sound. This is family run, and when we were seated we mentioned it was our anniversary, so the owner offered champagne. When we balked, she sent over dessert after our meal. Food was very good. Service attentive. Prices average. All and all a great night out without the kids!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Exceeded our expectations by a lot”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Outstanding seafood. Very personable wait staff that was friendly, helpful and entertaining. We mentioned it was our anniversary and the hostess sat us at a window seat overlooking the bay. Also offered up a complimentary dessert or half bottle of champagne which was not expected but very much appreciated. Take the time to walk on the back deck to the gazebo on the water. Very cool. Lighthouse is in the distance. Had the blackened fish of the day (mahi mahi) with the mango sauce. Tons of other choices which makes it very easy for us to return, and often. Make sure to try and get a window seat, sit back and enjoy a relaxing evening with terrific food, service and ambiance.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LW-1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great for families”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had a larger party (12) and had called ahead for seating (they do not take reservations unless you go at 4). We only had about a 5 minute wait and got a great table right by the windows. Our waiter was very pleasant and helpful, and the food was good. As a non-seafood lover, my filet mignon was one of the best I've had and reasonably priced. Lobster dinners were good, huge portions on the fried clams and fried shrimp. The wahoo (local fish) was large in portion size, but kind of flavorless and dry (according to my family). The live music and bar outside was nice to enjoy either before or after dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tale of The Whale also viewed

 
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 

Been to Tale of The Whale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing