We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rollicking”
Review of Red Drum Taphouse

Red Drum Taphouse
Ranked #19 of 84 Restaurants in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Hooksett, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Rollicking”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Went on a Friday night, off-season. Packed with happy people --- in fact, it's been a long time since we've been to a place that had such a crowd of clearly happy folks (maybe that's the OBX!) Seated quickly, great selection of local beers, good menu assortment. One of us had had enough seafood for the week, and ordered a steak, perfectly cooked, tasty and tender. One of us just couldn't leave without more seafood --- great choice to order crabcakes --- light and tender --- in fact, maybe the best crabcakes seen to date. Great fries, too. Everyone there seemed to know each other, and clearly enjoying themselves. Server was friendly and efficient. Give it a shot!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank regattagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    153
    33
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never again”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We went to spend thanksgiving in nags head,rented a house next door to this place thinking was nice because we like to try beer and they were supposed to have a good variety on tap.they had about only 2 or 3 beers on tap and when you say something they had an attitude.last day we tried again...even worst,my husband waited about 10 minutes to have a drink waiting for the bartender feels to serve him.food wasn't bad but not great and service terrible.only place in nags head that staff wasn't nice.go to tortuga's and dirty dick instead,much better good time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schnecksvill, PA
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Food OK”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We have eaten at this restaurant on a several occassions while on vacation in the OBX. The food is certainly not the best I have had on OBX, just OK.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1naturegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good Food and Friendly Service”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were in town for the half marathon and decided to grab a bite at a place we had not tried before. Everyone had something different, but I would have to say the macaroni and cheese with shrimp was the best!

When we got there the place was packed and no where to park. We knew we found a good spot!

Try this place you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielleDurham_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ahh the Jambalaya!!!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband is absolutely hooked on this dish. Whenever he is in the mood we always head to Red Drum.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyWalke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Drum Taphouse also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 

Been to Red Drum Taphouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing