We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good ribs and pulled pork”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sooey's BBQ

Sooey's BBQ
Ranked #31 of 81 Restaurants in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mich
Level Contributor
718 reviews
337 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Good ribs and pulled pork”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Order at the counter and they bring it to your table, Good food, reasonably priced. Nothing fancy but the price and food were well worth it

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fastphilad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    77
    36
    15
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“"Loved It"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Sooey's BBQ, what a wonderful exprience.I ate a chicken tender platter with mac and cheese and collards tasted outstanding. My husband had a half rack of rib and shrimp platter that was so tender the meat feel right off the bone. I love the food here. Cashiers were very nice and food was served quick. Drinks are self serve with free refills. Can't beat the price for the amount of food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monae999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, MD
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Place for Lunch & Loved the Cornbread”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We loved this placed so much we made a point of returning for dinner before we left. The service is friendly and fast and the atmosphere is casual. Also, you can't beat the price.

We all tried the pulled pork sandwiches with slaw on the side. The sandwiches were tasty enough even without the extra sauce. We also had the southern style greenbeans, the onion rings,and the macaroni and cheese, which were all flavorful and fresh tasting. For our second trip, we tried the cornbread, which is highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vera71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fletcher, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

It was good. For OBX, you got a good value for the price paid. Got a plate and a sandwich with sides, waters to drink and it was a $20 tab. Not bad for vacation type of restaurant.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank kickinchickin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephens City, Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“WOW - Great BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Just a little place that has some of the best bbq I have ever eaten! We had the pulled pork sandwiches and they were loaded -- no skimping here! At first I thought the prices were a little high but after seeing that loaded sandwich and tasting it, well, there were no complaints! Check this place out, you will not be sorry!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sooey's BBQ also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Duck, Outer Banks
 
Kitty Hawk, Outer Banks
 
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 

Been to Sooey's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing