We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“annual tradition!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sooey's BBQ

Sooey's BBQ
Ranked #30 of 80 Restaurants in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“annual tradition!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

This has become our group's official first night at the beach meal-- the barbecue is good, the sides are great (some of them a bit decadent) and everyone is happy. Reasonable and convenient.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laura_L224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    76
    36
    15
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Berlin, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ate every bite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

My daughters and I had chicken strips (yeah, yeah...), a pulled chicken sandwich, Mac and cheese, cole slaw, hush puppies, and fries. All delicious and wonderful. Seemed pricey, but it's a tourist location, so I kind of expect it. The employees were friendly with everyone that came in.

We ate outside and enjoyed just watching people across the street at the dunes or walking by. Wasn't busy, so was a nice place to chill and chat.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MommeeTerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Passaic, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Service and Pulled Pork Saved The Day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We werent planning on going to Sooeys for lunch this Tuesday, but after an longer-than-expected morning at the beach with our son and a friend of his, we were almost as famish as exhausted.

The good people at Sooey's were quick to accomodate our two troublemakers and rushed hush puppies out for them to snack, which was wonderful. We ordered them southern fried chicken and pulled pork. I dont eat meat, so I had the crab cake sandwich.

Everything was delicious, but the pulled pork was remarkable, according to my wife and son. They loved it!

Yes, it's a little more than you'd pay in a non-tourist area, but it's WELL worth it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LeoSaraceni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Food, Priced Slightly High”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

My wife and I visited this location on Aug 15th. The food was really good and the atmosphere is what you would expect from a N.C BBQ Joint. I did think the price was a little high for the size of the portions, but all in all the food was good. I had the brisket which hit the spot and my wife had the pulled chicken which was moist and full of flavor.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KS1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ribs Taste Like My Mom's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

The best ribs I have had anywhere. I always order a full rack and eat the second half cold at home. Get extra hush-puppies!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gmstaab7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sooey's BBQ also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 
Duck, Outer Banks
 

Been to Sooey's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing