We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad”
Review of Grits Grill

Grits Grill
Ranked #13 of 84 Restaurants in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Grits Grill is a decidedly southern place to have a great breakfast or lunch year round. It's open till 2 pm daily. Most of the cooking is done right behind the diner style front counter. Eggs any style, chipped beef, omelettes, hotcakes and of course grits (cooked just about any style) are breakfast specialties and served anytime. Lunch is full of specials, deli offerings and big, juicy burgers. Owned locally. Staff is well known for being warm and friendly. Come have breakfast with us anytime!
Lorton, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Had a couple of fairly decent omlets for breakfast. One was the Greek, which I kinda liked. I sat at the counter and noted that a pair of vise grips was holding the top of the grill together. I actually thought that was kinda cool. The wait staff was friendly and attentive. The meal and service were better than I expected. All in all, not a bad option for an inexpensive breakfast.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank throckmortonSanaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    129
    31
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pikeville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Decent food...fast...”
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in on a Saturday around 11am for something quick and easy. My husband got the french toast with eggs and bacon and I got the chicken salad sandwich all of which was tasty. The place is small but we did not have to wait to be seated. The staff were friendly and the prices were reasonable. We were in and out in 30 mins.

Helpful?
Thank 2Bares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaston, NC
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great meal!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Really cute place..was packed but we still got in within 5-10 minutes. The choices were great..everything that went by looked so yummy. We got our coffee and made our choice and enjoyed the neat atmosphere and quickly our food was brought..all was delicious. I will say that I prefer my grits to be sweet so my choice of having cheese added was a mistake..but it was all on me. My husband's corn beef hash and hash browns were perfectly cooked, as were my eggs and bacon, but I kept picking off his plate..lol. When we come back to OBX next May with friends, we will definitely be making a stop at grits grill..as they say, no grits, no glory!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarjH6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We went there but it was not our first choice. Closer places from us were jammed packed so we kept on driving.
We were seated in less than 5 minutes.
The breakfast was good and the staff was very nice and friendly with our 7 month grandson.
I had the "2 eggs plus" with hash brows and biscuit. Every thing was good, the biscuit were home made, and the hash brows seemed to have caramelized onions in it was were very good.
As much as the waiting staff is very friendly, the girl at the register was not even acknowledging my presence but just taking my receipt while still taking with other staff member.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bigben974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, VA
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Will Return Sooner or Later”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

A friend declared GG to have the best breakfast in the area. Perhaps so, but my first breakfast the other day was just so-so. I have no complaints. Perhaps I should have ordered something else instead, but so be it. There were a lot of people there who apparently would disagree with me. Anyway, I ordered biscuits and sausage gravy (with a custom order, ie a fried egg on top) and the hash browns. The egg arrived on a separate plate. The hash browns were overdone ... way overdone. And the gravy and biscuits were OK. Just OK. I call this average because I've had worse elsewhere, albeit not recently. The service was slightly above average and I give them credit for it.

The Wine Queen had bacon and eggs as I recall. She tried the plain grits expecting something special considering the name of the place. But plain is plain everywhere. They do have a couple of adders to customize their grits, in all fairness, for about a $1 adder. She proclaimed the bacon and eggs to be fine.

As we were leaving, I noted the arrival of the owners of an outstanding local restaurant who were being seated for breakfast. So I take that as a good sign for the future.

I found the breakfast menu to be somewhat limited. The prices were just a tad more than I'd expect to pay at some other nearby breakfast venue, give or take 10 miles. I did not pay attention to the lunch side of the menu, and they close at about 2:00, so no dinner menu.

Will I go back. Sure! I venture to guess that my next breakfast will only be better. I won't make a special trip from Kill Devil Hills, but if I'm in the area, I'll stop in sooner than later.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Big-Deeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grits Grill also viewed

 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 

Been to Grits Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing