We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff and very good food.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pamlico Jacks

Pamlico Jacks
Ranked #13 of 80 Restaurants in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $24
Cuisines: Bar, American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Pamlico Jack's Soundfront Restaurant combines the natural beauty and local history of the Outer Banks with delicious island cuisine for a delightfully fun experience. NOW SERVING LUNCH & DINNER!!! We serve fresh Gulf Stream seafood, certified Angus beef, tasty homemade pasta selections in generous portions and delectably decadent desserts. Lighter fare ranging from burgers to sandwiches, soups to salads and a variety of appetizers are also available. You'll certainly have no problem selecting your favorite vintage from our extensive wine list. We have had the honor of receiving the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence for well over 20 years in a row. You'll not suffer from dehydration either with our wide selection of beers, micro brews and custom cocktail beverages ranging from Jack's Hideaway Rum Jumper to the frozen Mariners' Mango Pain Killer! Our outdoor Rum Jumpers bar is an authentically replicated pirate ship, complete with sails and rigging, which leads you onto our large open-air soundfront deck with spectacular sunset views and live entertainment.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and very good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Early evening in October. Sat at the bar for a few drinks before dinner. Kenny the barman was very chatty and friendly. Moved through to the restaurant where we were seated at an awsome booth table. Friendly and helpfull waitress. Shared the fabulous Virginia oysters before our mains of a spicy pork dish and fish and chips. Lemon merignge pie to share and a nice bottle of red wine.$67

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank williamvance22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    533
    163
    99
    40
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, VA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not Our Choice, But Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Ended up here with a large group of folks, somewhat unexpectedly. After some confusion, we were able to order. Kudos for the server who tried to keep up with the group. Margarita was so-so. Peach bread pretty good. Meals were just ok. I had shrimp and grits, which were a little too spicy bbq for my taste. The place is huge, overlooking the sound. It might be nice for drinks on the deck, but it's not the kind of place I prefer to eat.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VAPrgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selbyville, Delaware
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great meal and sunset!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

This was our first visit to the Outer Banks and to Pamlico Jack's. We will certainly return.....maybe even during this trip! We were given our choice of inside or outside, and we chose outside. What a great choice! We sat at a high top table next to the marsh and were just in time for a magnificent sunset. Our waiter, Terry, was very prompt and attentive. He suggested several fruity cocktails, and I selected the golden margarita while my husband ordered a Miller lite. The margarita was very good and large for the price ($8.50)....the beer arrived quickly and very cold. We ordered the crabmeat and spinach dip as an appetizer. That, too, arrived very quickly and was outstanding. It was very thick and tasty with delicious seasoned bread crisps. My husband ordered the special of mango glazed sea scallops. The scallops were large and plentiful (8) with rice, mangos, and black beans along with carrots and green beans. Excellent meal. I ordered the she crab soup and asked for old bay since we are from Maryland. Terry advised a squirt of lime but included the old bay as well. The soup was hot and tasty but not as good as cream of crab soup from MD! I would order the soup again. I had the house salad and Terry brought a basket of rolls and peach bread....yummy! The only complaint was the coffee with Bailey's and Amaretto that I ordered....with the two shots, the coffee was $16.00.....pricey for an after dinner drink! Overall, this was an exceptional meal and we will return!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sklovessummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First night's Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Enjoyed the atmosphere and the menu was excellent. $$$ but loved it. I woould recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy55_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Loved the pirate deck setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

This was our first visit to Pamlico Jack's. We really went just to hear the local band Low Pressure (great band BTW), but we were also treated to a view of a beautiful sunset. We just had drinks and bar food (steamed shrimp and a barbque sandwich) which was quite ordinary but cooked OK, and since we didn't go for the food, we thought it was fine.

If you are looking for a nice music venue with the possibility of a beautiful sunset, this is the place. Even if you aren't treated to a sunset, the marsh setting is very tranquil and pretty and the pirate ship deck is interesting.

Service was pretty poor, but since we were there to listen to the band, we were glad it was so slow as it allowed us to leisurely nosh our way through 2 of their sets.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pohickian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pamlico Jacks also viewed

 

Been to Pamlico Jacks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing