We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A OBX Tradition”
Review of Owens' Restaurant

Owens' Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 85 Restaurants in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Since 1946, four generations of locals and visitors have experienced the famous food and hospitality of the Owens and Shannon families.We are celebrating 69 years in business, in the same location, making us the oldest restaurant in the state of North Carolina! Owens Restaurant serves classic Southern coastal cuisine. We specialize in fresh and local seafood from North Carolina waters, exceptional Prime Western beef, and flavorful pastas. Our customers marvel at our collection of museum quality artifacts dedicated to the maritime history of the Outer Banks. Come see us for delicious food, exceptional service and warm Southern hospitality!
Flint
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A OBX Tradition”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My wife and I first visited the Outer Banks in 1971 and we return every year. We rent an ocean front cottage and have that special dinner out on every trip. Dinner Out is always Owens'. There is no better dining on the Outer Banks. Make it memorable. This restaurant is a destination, not a spot to drop in with the kids for a quick bite. If you just want good local sandwiches try PigMan, Owen's Restaurant is not inexpensive. We've occasionally asked to be re-seated. Not all tables and rooms are the same. We expect the perfect evening. We bring friends and we expect the restaurant to impress. We've not been disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tiphys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    659
    177
    99
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Decatur, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“AWESOME”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Hushpuppies best ever anywhere! Food is always cooked the way we want it. Pleasant
staff. Owners work there and eat there. My husband & I go to Nags Head 2x a year, March is the first
trip and we make sure Ownes is open, basically we plan our trip around their opening.
Might be more expensive than some other restaurants around, but you get cheese/crackers &
hushpuppies with your meal & it's a very clean restaurant & is well taken care of. We highly
suggest it!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danaj313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Dependably good!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We look forward to our annual OBX visits in part due to knowing we'll be going to Owens. Always great food, excellent service, if on the pricey side. There are lots of really good seafood restaurants in the area, but Owens is always at the top of the list.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dtravOKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Favorite Outer Banks Restaurant”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Owens has been my favorite outer banks restaurant for over 10 yrs now. They never disappoint. The service is always the best and the food as well. They are open all year round. The menu is mainly seafood but they do have a kids menu and a few non seafood items. I have never had a bad meal at Owens.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blueberrykin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A little pricey, but great for a special occasion!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went to Owens' for our one year wedding anniversary and we loved it! The atmosphere is very inviting and relaxing. The waiter we had was genuinely friendly and helpful (as we had never eaten there before). You could tell he wasn't being fake and just being nice to get a good tip. The food was excellent and they gave you time to eat before bringing the next thing out to you. It is a little pricey, but you get a lot of good quality food for your money! We would definitely go there again!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trosie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Owens' Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Owens' Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing