We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great meal!”
Review of Owens' Restaurant

Owens' Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 83 Restaurants in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Since 1946, four generations of locals and visitors have experienced the famous food and hospitality of the Owens and Shannon families.We are celebrating 69 years in business, in the same location, making us the oldest restaurant in the state of North Carolina! Owens Restaurant serves classic Southern coastal cuisine. We specialize in fresh and local seafood from North Carolina waters, exceptional Prime Western beef, and flavorful pastas. Our customers marvel at our collection of museum quality artifacts dedicated to the maritime history of the Outer Banks. Come see us for delicious food, exceptional service and warm Southern hospitality!
DE
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“What a great meal!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner with a 12 person table and it was excellent service with n excellent meal. Don't fill up on the cheese crock because they have hush puppies to die for and you still need to save room for dinner. More expensive than some of the other places in town but worth the money. The dinners were vert tasty! This place was tops!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LAM3DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    637
    171
    94
    27
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
161 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good food, good service (out of clever titles)”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Anyway. Staying at Owen's Motel for one night, after a 13 hour drive, we were not inclined to get back in the car and start looking for somewhere to eat. Instead, we walked across the parking lot into a lovely family restaurant with very good food. We were slightly embarrassed as we had not changed for dinner and folks were dressed "smart casual" instead of "road weary grunge" but the hostess never batted an eye and seated us right away. Our server was also friendly and warm, providing us with a basket of hush puppies, endearing herself to us all the more. The menu was pricey but the food and service was worth it. Fish perfectly cooked, complemented by well done sides. Nice wine list, too. We were too tired for dessert, but we will have it the next time we visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kendrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have eating here well over fifty times and all I can say is this place is simply the BEST ! A TRUE SOUTHERN JEWEL

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thejfromva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never a dissapointment”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Owen's is a family run restaurant that simply has terrific seafood and attentive service. I have never been disappointed by a meal there. The prices are not outrageous and definitely within reason for the amount of food you get. Every meal comes with a cheese crock- a little pot of cheddar cheese with a basket of crackers, and also a bread basket that includes amazing hush puppies. The servings are substantial, and the desserts are terrific as well. There is sometimes a wait during the season, but they have a comfortable bar area upstairs, or a cute gift shop downstairs so you are not just standing in the doorway waiting for your table. There is nothing negative to say about Owens. Wonderful all around.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MFL703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
102 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“An Excellent Meal”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Owens' is an Outer Banks tradition for our family. Impeccable service, wonderful food, and great atmosphere brings us back here on each visit to the Outer Banks. We traditionally have a large party with us when we go. Because Owens' doesn't take reservations, we try to get there right at opening (5PM). The menu offers a variety of seafood, steaks, and pastas. Salads are ordered a la carte.

Service starts with crackers and cheese crock. Warm French Bread and Hush Puppies are also complimentary. The appetizers are excellent and well portioned. Everything from the filet to Margarita Scallops to the Hatteras Combination were great. The paired vegetables, rice, potatoes, and sauces complimented the main entree without overpowering it.

The dessert tray was decadent. It included creme brulee, chocolate mousse, coconut creme pie, key lime pie, and much, much more. The desserts were delicious as well.

Owens' is expensive with most entrees ranging from $28-32 dollars, but we find this splurge quite worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FollowingHistory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Owens' Restaurant also viewed

 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Owens' Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing