We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh and Tasty” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Armstrongs Seafood

Armstrongs Seafood
Ranked #34 of 80 Restaurants in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Northern VA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fresh and Tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Tiny place but worth it. Friendly and funny staff. We dined at the bar. The crab dip is fantastic with a mustard taste. It was definitely unique and yummy! The corn nuggets are to die for. They are cream of corn bites frozen then fried. So when served hot they are sweet and creamy amazing!
The steamed shrimp and snow crab legs were fresh and large. They did not need any drawn butter and they were sweet and tasted like the ocean. Not freezer quality or fishy at all.
You can purchase steam pots to take home with you and cook on your stove from a selection of freshly caught fish, clams, lobster etc. We will dine there again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lilcangood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    31
    2
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great place to get your seafood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

After having a very diappointing experience at another local seafood company in Nags Head, we gave Armstrong's a try our 2nd night on vacation last week. They ROCK! They have a great variety of fresh fish (including tile, tuna, snapper, cod, mahi mahi, and flounder) as well as crab legs, scallops (to DIE for!), oysters, clams, etc . . . . and if there is something you want (like mako shark), and they don't have it, they will get it for you with advanced notice. Each morning the guys in our party went to Armstrongs to put in our seafood order for dinner and returned about 5:45 each evening for pickup. Everything was the way we had ordered. They pan seared scallops for us (and melted like butter in your mouth) and steamed oysters and crab legs too. The fish filets we got (tuna and tile) were very fresh. The owners were friendly, and shook the guys hands as they left each time and THANKED them for their business. Armstrongs is a small place, but they have room to eat lunch/dinner in there as well. 2 local EMT's came in to have lunch while we put in our seafood order the one day. . . so if the locals eat here, you know it has to be good!! They even have $1 PBR bottles daily. Price, quality, and service were excellent. I hope they continue!!! We've found a new place to get our seafood everynight while in OBX!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank WinchesterVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“LOVED IT ALL!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

The staff was, by far, the best entertainment we had all week! They turned a rainy, nasty day into the most fun day we had on our whole trip. And the food! OMG! The food was the best seafood I have ever had and I eat seafood regularly. I cannot say enough about this restaurant. Don't let the small appearance fool you! This is a must if you are anywhere close to it! And if this review persuades you to go, tell the guys (and there is only 3 of them) the WV folks sent you! We loved them.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern PA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unassuming and Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

After brushing up on reviews for the Nags Head area, and not being at all familiar with it, we chose to have dinner at Armstrong's for our last meal at the beach after a long weekend trip. When first entering, I was a little surprised...it's set up more like a seafood market than a traditional seafood restaurant...but after being greeted with a huge "Hello Darlin'!! Pick a seat anywhere!!" I knew we were staying for the southern hospitality alone. I am SO glad we did. We got in early, around 5:00, with my husband and 3 kids. We ordered scallops, clams, crab balls, steamed blue crabs, and of course the best part - $1 PBRs (the kids dines on their usual - mozzarella sticks)! Everything was outstanding and being from Maryland, I have to say, the crabs were some of the best I have ever had and by far the best this season...plus the prices compared to those in MD were incredibly low!! Everyone there was incredibly friendly and welcoming and we loved every second of it. We will definitely be back next time we're in town!! Thanks again!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amanning828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in just after 11am. We were the only customers the entire time we were there, but they didn't check on us once. (My ice tea was all ice, I would have liked more tea.) The crab cake sandwiches came out in big, wheat rounds which hid the crab completely until you lifted the top. No lettuce, no tomato. A very lonely, ordinary little crab cake in there with a bag of chips on the side. Meanwhile, a fella was encouraging two ladies to let him cater an event. It was awkward.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jannel43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Armstrongs Seafood also viewed

Nags Head, Outer Banks
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 

Been to Armstrongs Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing