We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch spot 3+” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sugar Shack Seafood Market

Sugar Shack Seafood Market
Ranked #36 of 80 Restaurants in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Not the same thing as Sugar Creek Restaurant!
Rochester
Level Contributor
172 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Lunch spot 3+”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here are we departed OBX. Ordered fried large shrimp on another reviewers advice- it was very good fried seafood. Also got crab cake which was OK, but that dish varies so much from North to South.

There is a small eating area overlooking the water. This is a seafood shack and restaurant, as advertised.

I recommend this as a quick bite to eat. We shared a meal + sweet potato fries and it was plenty.

Helpful?
Thank teachersms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    47
    19
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pitman, New Jersey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fresh local shrimp can't be beat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We didn't eat in, but we picked up fresh shrimp, mussels, drum and tuna to cook at home and the staff was very helpful. Everything was fresh and our meal turned out great. The crowd favorite was the shrimp—big, meaty and so tender.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ijan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We got the grilled tuna and blackened mahi mahi sandwiches. Both were excellent. Loved the fries and the coleslaw too. Weather was terrible so we took it to go. The outside eating area might be very nice on a better day.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tlshow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawai'i
Level Contributor
329 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Pass on the sandwiches”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Ate here based on mixed Yelp reviews, so here's another one to throw into the bowl.

ATMOSPHERE:
This place is a seafood market as well as a casual restaurant. The inside is freezing cold like a market, but we wanted to sit outdoors regardless because of the view. There's great views of the bay under a trellised patio. We saw a shrimper at work too. Expect to be busy shooing flies while eating.

FOOD:
Clam chowder - It's not New England nor Manhattan style. It's brownish in color and tastes like clam beef vegetable soup. Good but not what I was expecting.

Shack attack po' boy - This sandwich is way too big. I don't think anyone can open their mouth that wide. I ate with a fork and tossed the bread. It contains fried flounder, shrimp, scallops & oysters on a roll spread with marinara sauce and drizzled with an Italian dressing-Tabasco sauce and topped with shredded lettuce, and potato chips on the side. Unfortunately it lacked any sort of flavor or personality.

Large shrimp - 10 or so lightly breaded and deep-fried shrimp and shoestring fries. The breading isn't your usual thick & frozen breadcrumb variety which was awesome, because I can cook that at home! It came with a mildly spicy & peppery sauce for dipping. This dish is way better than the sandwich.

SERVICE:
You order & pay at the counter and your food is delivered. The guys in there were very patient and helpful.

OVERALL:
Nice views, prices are average, portions are generous. Pass on the sandwiches and stick to the grilled & fried items.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MauiWorldTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Be careful!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We purchased crab meat to make a meal at home while on vacation. I sent my son in law to Sugar Shack because of the closeness to our rental property. He purchased 3 containers of crab, went to the car and checked the expiration date on them. They had already expired 3 days prior. He immediately returned them without even leaving the parking lot. What should have been an easy exchange turned out to be a big hassle. The manager had to be called and he hesitated to refund the money since they didn't have replacement crab. After unneeded verbal exchanges, they finally gave the money back which was used at another location. Granted, everyone makes mistakes and I can see how outdated product can be overlooked and sold. However to treat customers with this kind of hassle is unacceptable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ButcherofYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar Shack Seafood Market also viewed

 
Nags Head, Outer Banks
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 

Been to Sugar Shack Seafood Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing