We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveler rating
121
78
24
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
121
78
24
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no elevator ocean front the outer banks outdoor pool a wonderful place to stay rooms are clean ice machine pools efficiency floor microwave balcony obx beach sunrise rates dune
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 234 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2018

We love OBX & really enjoyed staying at Blue Heron. We visited friends when they stayed & glad they introduced us! Clean, comfy rooms right on the beach, wonderful views. Great Rates, friendly staff!!

Date of stay: November 2017
Thank 181dianah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

We spent a weekend at the Blue Heron. It is a very basic and simple motel that is literally steps away from the beach. Most of the motels on the Outer Banks have been there forever and it is all about the location. The Blue Heron is a perfect example of this. It's the kind of place that people have been coming to every summer for 50 years.

The rooms are very clean. The carpet, the bed, the sheets, the bathroom, and the towels were always very clean. Your sheets are changed every single day! Our room was an efficiency so it had a small electric oven, a microwave, sink, counters, cabinets, and some basic dishes and glasses.

The rooms are dated but again, this is the norm for the Outer Banks.

The motel is maybe 50 yards to the beach. They have several showers/foot washing stations for you when you come back from the beach. There are 3 pools, 2 outdoor and 1 indoor, and an indoor Jacuzzi.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The price was amazing for the location, about $160 a night. Like I said before, a very basic motel, but one that is very clean and should meet your needs while at the Outer Banks.

Room tip: 3rd floor rooms will have view of the ocean
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigHouseFootball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2018 via mobile

We were so pleased with our stay! Loved that it was on the beach, and close to restaurants. So happy with our stay as it was super clean and great staff! This will be a staple in our weekend trips! (2 pools is a nice touch and the ice machine)!!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Lindsey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2018 via mobile

Blue Heron, is a great family owned place, nothing fancy but love it. It is on the beach, indoor and outdoor pool. Staff very friendly and helpfull. Rooms very clean. Have stayed therr before and will do so again in future.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank paulmD6627OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018 via mobile

This was our second visit; couldn’t wait to get back. Nothing fancy, but the staff is so friendly, Housekeeping kept our room clean (Latonya even gave us a book on places to eat, which we really appreciated). You have your own private beach (they also have two outdoor pools and an indoor pool). Every room has a view of the ocean; can’t wait to go back!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank _amonroe108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews