We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great place!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Heron Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Heron Motel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
williamsburg va
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a great place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2005

After reading several reviews on different hotels/motels in the nags head area, I chose the Blue Heron because it was the only place with consistently good reviews. After staying three nights I can see why!! It is very affordable and CLEAN!! Our room was an effiency that had a full sized refridgerator, stove, microwave, coffee maker, etc... It also had all the eating utensils you could need! (plates, cups, glasses, silverware, etc...) We had an ocean view which was so awesome. It is a great place for families on a budget.

Helpful?
19 Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    71
    24
    6
    5
See reviews for
51
104
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2005

We stayed at the Blue Heron from June 5-11, 2005. It was our first trip to Nags Head. I found the Blue Heron from other reviewers on the Net. Everything said was true. All rooms have ocean views. We stayed in #19, top floor, end of first group. We saw the most spectacular sunrises every morning. The room, especially the bathroom, was one of the cleanest motel rooms I have ever stayed in. The rooms were also very private. I highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee USA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2005

got home today from an outer banks getaway. Based on reviews from this website we stayed at the blue heron motel in Nags Head. I agree with all the other reviews. The Blue Heron is a simple, older motel, but very clean rooms, maid service was good, has nice indoor and outdoor pools, and located directly on the beach for a great view. You can certainly stay at more "upscale" motels, but we felt the price was right and it offered everything we wanted. We were well pleased and would use the blue heron again.

Helpful?
18 Thank kiskangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2005

The Blue Heron is a great discovery in a sea of choice. We've been "beached" at dumps before and this is a relaxing no-frills motel - clean, friendly, ocean front, quiet, inexpensive. We stayed twice in the late-'90s and were very pleased with our efficiencies. We only needed to buy our food and they provided the rest. Judging from more current reviews, The Blue Heron is very popular!

  • Stayed August 1999
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank TheDailyBuzzherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2005

We have been staying at the Blue Heron practically every year since the early 70's. Clean rooms, great view. Family run by great people. This May will be third time we have stayed at the Blue Heron within the last 12 months. It's our second home.

Stayed December 2004
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallmadge, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2005

We stayed at the blue Heron and were pleasantly surprised by the reasonable price. Great indoor swimming pool with adjacent hot tub. In room microwave and fridge a great added bonus. View from 2nd floor good. No elevator but not a problem at all. Nice balcony with seats. Clean. Nice freindly front office. Liked ordering from the Pizza oven who delivered directly to the room.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank fbcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2005

I discovered the blue heron by accident one christmas. it was lit up so pretty for the holiday and had a vacancy. i try to stay there as often as i can. the views are worth it. and the price is reasonable and the indoor pool is a great selling point for my family. it is the motel i recomend to everyone i know.

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
8.9 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
7.5 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
7.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Motel

Property: Blue Heron Motel
Address: 6811 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9121
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
#5 Family Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Hotel Nags Head
Blue Heron Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing