We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Heron Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Heron Motel
Save
You added Blue Heron Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed here last spring on a fishing trip. rooms have ocean view and porch. These are the cleanest rooms of any place we have stayed in some time. Location is great and close to everything. Family owned and very relaxing hotel. Would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    68
    24
    6
    5
See reviews for
50
101
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Beach front- you literally arrive, walk onto the beach and start enjoying. oGreat location ( walking distance from Jeanette's Pier) with reasonable price, for this reason alone I would probably stay again, plus it was family owned and they were friendly. Outdoor and indoor pool, and indoor hot tub. The interior is dated to the early 80's, and weather worn. They do not have the small practical things you expect in chain hotel room such as hair dryer and plastic bag for wer swimsuits! Also, it would be nice is they had washing machine and dryer for public use so that you didn't have to drag dirty/wet swimsuits back home!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank AREIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I have stayed at the Blue Heron multiple times with my family and have not been disappointed. You cannot beat the location, right on the beach in the heart of Nag's Head.

While the motel is dated, it's charming. Extremely clean and safe and the staff are courteous and helpful.

During my most recent stay, I accidentally left a necklace in the room and realized it when we got home. I called the main office to let them know to keep an eye out for it. A few days later it showed up in my mailbox! I didn't even have to pay for shipping!

We will definitely return, hopefully many time!

Room Tip: Ask for the third floor if you can - best ocean view! Second floor will give you a good one too ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cvlmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
104 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here over bike week in April and it was so very nice and quiet. The pool and hot tub indoors was perfect. The weather outdoors was not cooperating and so we enjoyed the hot tub every night. The location was great too. Right on the beach, far enough away from the hustle and bustle to be quiet and close enough to shopping, restaraunts and attractions that we never had far to drive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darlinH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownstown Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This motel is everything and a bag of chips. We were there April 7 through April 12, 2013. It is no frills, but who needs them when you can sleep with your balcony door open and hear the ocean? It is perfectly clean and meticulously maintained. The staff is very friendly and have great suggestions for restaurants and the best sight seeing. It takes about 1 minute to take the stairs, cross the dune and be on the beach. The only thing we could have asked for was a hook on the back of the bathroom door!

Room Tip: Loved our view of the ocean from the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovesNYC1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a nice family owned ocean front hotel in Nags Head, where all of the rooms are ocean side. There's nothing fancy about the hotel - four drawers for clothes, a small area to hang clothes, no restaurant - but it is clean, well maintained and has both an indoor and an outdoor pool. The indoor pool is open year round, so be sure to bring your bathing suit, even if you visit during cooler months. (There is a changing room, too, so you don't have to venture out in the cold in your bathing suit.) We have stayed here on multiple occasions and have never been disappointed. This time, we had a room on the third floor with a comfortable king-sized bed and a wonderful view of the ocean and Jennette's Pier. The pier is walkable - about a 15 minute stroll along the beach.

Room Tip: second or third floor allows you to see the ocean - first floor provides a view of the dune
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was our second time staying at the Blue Heron. It was as good as the first (October 2012). Modest motel. Great staff. Clean rooms. Great views from 3rd floor. Accommodations are basic, but the view and the service can't be beat. Free passes to local YMCA.

Room Tip: Stay on the third floor if you don't mind climbing stairs. The view is worth the climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
0.1 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#2 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 stars 1,287 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#9 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Owens' Motel
Owens' Motel
#13 of 13 in Nags Head
3.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
8.9 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 stars 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Motel

Property: Blue Heron Motel
Address: 6811 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9121
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nags Head
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
#5 Family Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Hotel Nags Head
Blue Heron Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing