We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great for beach people!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Heron Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Heron Motel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great for beach people!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just returned from another great stay at the Blue Heron. This is the place for people who love the beach and go to Nags Head for the true beach experience. It doesn't have the frills of other hotels - but what it does have is spotless rooms and amazing views of the ocean and sound. Our second floor efficiency had everything we needed and more for a comfortable, relaxing few days on the beach. The staff are friendly and the cleaning staff truly go out of their way to make sure the rooms are maintained at the highest level of cleanliness. One day the wind made the low temperature frigid - but the dear housekeeper was on the balcony washing the picture window so we would have a clear view. You might find something more fancy.....but you won't find any place any better than the Blue Heron.

Room Tip: View of the ocean are better from the second and third floors. First floor views are blocked by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agamemnon3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    71
    24
    6
    5
See reviews for
51
104
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Marydel, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Returned to the Blue Heron after 11 years,and the hotel is still family owned and friendly. The staff is very helpful and you get the feeling you are a guest in their home. The units and grounds are spotless and they all face the ocean. The complex is in great shape, even after taking all those hurricane beatings over the years. The rates are CHEAP! and the South Beach Grill is across the street, with decent food and drink and a local flavor. The Blue Heron is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

I stayed here for the first time with my young children for a vacation to OBX. Here are the pros and the cons, in my opinion:

The pros:
- The motel obviously makes an effort to maintain cleanliness, which is a top priority of mine
- The maintenance man was very kind and helpful to my family
- The motel has a family atmosphere in general, and there were numerous people there when we stayed who were return guests from previous years and were loyal to the Blue Heron
- The location is great, as it is a very short walk to the pier as well as very convenient to numerous stores, restaurants, etc.
- The beach front views from the room are great. We were on the second floor, and didn't have quite the view I would've hoped for, but it was still better than looking out onto a parking lot (which is the case at many other motels)
- The motel has a little birdhouse in the front which is populated by purple martins; the birdhouse is designed as a miniature version of the motel itself. This was a neat little feature that could be viewed from all rooms.

The cons:
- The motel, overall, was extremely uncomfortable for us. We're not used to traveling in luxury accommodations, but this was really "roughing it", in our opinion. The air conditioner window unit in the room did not work properly, and the room was constantly either freezing or burning. I developed a runny nose on the trip from the air. The bathroom was incredibly small, to the point that only one person could fit in there at a time. Not for the claustrophobic.
- The wood paneling in the room was extremely out-dated, as were the furniture and "decor". It felt like we had time warped to the 1970's.
- The refridgerator in our room was actually a mini-fridge that did not keep things cold at all. It was warm inside of it.
- The bed and pillows were very, very hard. I did not sleep well on this trip.
- As others have mentioned, there were no amenities whatsoever in the room. Please bring everything that you need, and do not make the mistake of counting on the refridgerator to keep your food or beverages cold for you on your vacation.
- People staying in the room above ours were vomiting off of their third floor balcony; the vomit was falling onto the ground below, and remained there that morning. My children walked past it. This was gross. This could happen anywhere, I guess, so it's not really fair to blame it on the motel.

I do not think that I would return to this motel, mostly due to the extreme discomfort that we felt on this trip. However, for those who do not mind the above issues I mentioned, or for those just looking for a place to stay overnight, I think that this would be a very good choice. They do have very reasonable rates, and I felt like they were making a sincere effort. I have stayed in some filthy motels, and this motel was definitely CLEAN; it was just very uncomfortable, if that makes sense. Nonetheless, my family has very good memories from this trip, and those memories are what matter the most.

Thank you

Room Tip: If you get the first floor room, you will not be able to see the beach front. From the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericktown, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Even though this is an older motel, it is very clean and modestly updated. The lady in charge of cleaning has worked at the hotel for over forty years and they take pride in how well maintained they keep it. Every room has a balcony/ porch facing the ocean, and from the front of your room you can see the Sound making you have the "island feel". When staying here, you have private access to the beautiful beach right outside your door. The Blue Heron has an indoor pool and hot tub, along with an outdoor pool. One thing we really enjoyed was their LARGE ice machine to fill up our coolers for no cost. Staying here means that you are just down the beach from Jeanette's Pier, which is fun to explore and free to walk out on and fish. The Blue Heron is located in the Nags Head part of OBX which is our favorite because you are close to so many great restaurants and activities. If you do come here, you have to try Millers, and Pamlico Jacks! Best places to eat with great atmospheres!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chelsi m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth City, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
138 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We have stayed before with grand kids & loved it. This time just wife & I. Great views but it rained the whole time so we did not go on beach. Pool was down but we were offered the YMCA.
Great price, CLEAN & afforable. As others have said get 3rd floor for ecellent views.

Room Tip: 3rd floor great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Vacationed in OBX for many years but never stayed at the Blue Heron until now and was very amazed at how clean the room and grounds were. This is an older property but very well taken care of and very reasonable. I just can not put in words how amazed I was on how clean this place was for its age. I will be a return visitor! And the view from our 3rd story room....... BREATHTAKING!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GBoggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as a last minute decision. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The views are incredible from third floor. There is no lift so you need to be able to haul your stuff up to your room. However, the view of the ocean is worth it. From the front door you can watch the sunset over the bay and in the evening you can watch the subset over the ocean. What more could you want?

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank perrygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#9 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
7.8 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
6.8 mi away
Outer Banks Inn
Outer Banks Inn
#10 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Motel

Property: Blue Heron Motel
Address: 6811 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9121
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Nags Head
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Hotel Nags Head
Blue Heron Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing