We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great stay Again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Heron Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Heron Motel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Elizabeth City, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
138 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great stay Again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We have stayed before with grand kids & loved it. This time just wife & I. Great views but it rained the whole time so we did not go on beach. Pool was down but we were offered the YMCA.
Great price, CLEAN & afforable. As others have said get 3rd floor for ecellent views.

Room Tip: 3rd floor great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    71
    24
    6
    5
See reviews for
51
104
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Vacationed in OBX for many years but never stayed at the Blue Heron until now and was very amazed at how clean the room and grounds were. This is an older property but very well taken care of and very reasonable. I just can not put in words how amazed I was on how clean this place was for its age. I will be a return visitor! And the view from our 3rd story room....... BREATHTAKING!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GBoggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as a last minute decision. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The views are incredible from third floor. There is no lift so you need to be able to haul your stuff up to your room. However, the view of the ocean is worth it. From the front door you can watch the sunset over the bay and in the evening you can watch the subset over the ocean. What more could you want?

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank perrygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Just returned from a great 4 day stay at the Blue Hern, wanted to stay a week but travel time (we are from Georgia ) made that impractical. Once again i love this place,true is is an older motel and one of the few ma & pa places left, but we like it that way,clean, oceanfront view cannot be beat ( from second & third floor) and the price is rite .
Will be back.
No more reviews thou, Got to keep this place to our selfs !!!!!!
Jim & Pat Rusch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife & I just stayed here for the first time (October 2012). We had an excellent experience. This is an "old school" motel. Run by caring individuals & cleaned by ladies who care about what they are doing. We experienced wonderful service, had great views (3rd floor) and used the money we saved ($63 for top floor efficiency) to pay for nice meals; expertly recommended by the front desk attendant. Comfort Inn few blocks south wants $139 for much smaller room.
I noticed that the other motels in the same area had vacancies while the Blue Heron was sold out. Now that I have stayed here, I understand why. We will certainly return.
If you are looking for a great rate and a no-frills, real clean, great-view motel.....look no further.

Room Tip: If you are o.k. climbing stairs, get a room on the 3rd floor. Great views & big porch/balcony w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thomaville nc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

i have stayed here numerous times over the last 5 years. great place. that was ruined for me today. i called to check on room availability. there was one room available. i informed them that i wouldn't know for sure that i would be able to come until 10am the next morning but that i was 95% sure i could. i told them that i could make the reservation then-940pm- and if something didn't work out suffer the cancelation penalty, the lady said NO, i'll hold the room for you, call in the morning. she said that she was closing up and wouldn't be taking any more calls anyways. i called around 915am next morning shortly after they opened and THEY HAD GIVEN MY ROOM AWAY!!! they had a not so pleasant attitude and basically said TOUGH! just wanting appeasment, was given NONE! no discount for next stay-no deep heartfelt apology-nothing but these words repetitively----NO VACANCY. my friends and family will no longer stay there due to this mistreatment.

Room Tip: pick somewhere where management cares about their guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adam e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We went here for our five year anniversary. It was quiet, comfortable, and had amazing views! The staff was very helpful, and the daily maid service was great. This is a very clean, bright place. The beach is a very short walk down a boardwalk. The indoor pool an hot tub were great additions to our stay!

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#9 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
7.8 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
6.8 mi away
Outer Banks Inn
Outer Banks Inn
#10 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Motel

Property: Blue Heron Motel
Address: 6811 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9121
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
#5 Family Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Hotel Nags Head
Blue Heron Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing