We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little to eat”
Review of Applebee's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Applebee's
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Prestonsburg, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Little to eat”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We went in and had to wait even thought the restaurant was not full and the bartender was our waitress . The food was not great . The service was not great . The bartender tried but its hard to do both .

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank misb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    17
    14
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Could have been better :-(”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Food was average- I am a fan of Apple Bee's but was a little disappointed for it to be so close to a vacation location. Order the new wedge salad with blue cheese (not much topping). Meal wasn't that great either. Not crowded but waitress came only once to check on us. Don't think I will go back while I am here- will try some of the other locations.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank viccobu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrisburg, pa
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Regular Old Applebee's”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was a regular old Applebee's. I'm not sure why we chose to eat here. Don't waste your time in the Outer Banks eating here. Go to the Sugar Shack or Captain Georges!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank klc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“No thanks.”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stopped going to our local Applebee's due to poor service. We tried this restaurant because two of our children don't like seafood and we figured they'd have something for all six of us. We went this past Saturday evening around 5:30. They weren't that busy but we had to wait for our waiter to come to our table. He took forever bringing us our six drinks: 3 waters, 2 ice teas and a strawberry lemonade. We had to ask for our refills and he wasn't very helpful. He had a accent so maybe there was some type of language/communication problem. The food was okay. While we were waiting for our drinks, a manager walked by but didn't acknowledge us. She probably didn't want to hear us complain. However, she did come back when the food was delivered. I didn't like how the waiter addressed our teenage daughter when asking questions. It was obvious that she wasn't paying for the meal. In fact, I had to tell him to hand the bill to my husband. I really don't understand why when people go out to eat, do you have to ASK the waiter/waitress for napkins. It happens to us all of the time, this place included. I think that we have had enough of Applebee's and won't go to any of them again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 6wvrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia,pa
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Um no....”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Well we sat down and ordered our drinks. When the server came back proceeds to tell us they are having computer issues and they are behind. (We should have known then to just leave) He proceeds to tell us that it's so bad they are flying someone down from upper Va to fix it, lets not forget that it had stopped working properly yesterday before dinner. We waited a little over 30 minutes for our food. Most of which were appetizers. We asked for containers and were given the small container for a large order of nachos. We paid and left as soon as we could.

It would have been nice to know before we sat down there was a 'bad' computer issue. We probably wouldn't have felt cornered in AFTER we sat and ordered drinks. Hopefully, their computer problem clears up soon........

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank brooke476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Applebee's also viewed

 
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing