We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great dinner!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nags Head Pier Restaurant

Nags Head Pier Restaurant
Ranked #48 of 80 Restaurants in Nags Head
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
715 reviews
429 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Great dinner!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

My husband and I stumbled upon the Pier Restaurant...we ordered hot crab dip for an appetizer and a shrimp plate to share. There was plenty of food and we ate every last bite! A nice perk was being able to walk out on the pier after our dinner. We had had a short shower and there was a beautiful rainbow that appeared. It was nice to just walk post dinner and enjoy the sites!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VEE1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    117
    69
    36
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great breakfast.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

We always go here from breakfast o our way home from the beach. The seafood omelet is unique and delicious. It did go up in price $2.00 since the last visit but what hasn't gone up? The pancakes are great too. (I stole a few bites off my daughters plate. The blueberries weren't in the batter like you would think, They were smeared between the pancakes. It's not a fancy place by any means but I like the atmosphere. Get a window seat for a view of the ocean.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SuziKarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHANTILLY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast but gets crowded fast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Nags Head tradition - excellent breakfast, great view right on the ocean. They are making improvements and adding more space.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Trippin40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food and great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

The food is good, service is good and the view is awesome. We really like going here when we go to OBX. The crab dip is awesome and love the soft shelled crab dinner.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank stacey_y318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
586 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 426 helpful votes
“Nice Plain Home Cooking in Nags Head with The Best View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

The restaurant on the pier is the sort of home cooking place we all imagine we ate at when we were younger. They serve generous portions of traditional North Carolina fried seafood with some broiled choices now available as well. This is a good place to enjoy a fine cooked breakfast while watching Dolphins playing in the surf. Lunch has the expected local offerings and all the prices are moderate. It is an excellent stop for late afternoon happy hour and as of spring 2014 they still have 10 cent steamed shrimp (order in multiples of 20) as long as you have a beverage. At dinner it can be crowded but they usually squeeze you in. In the meantime there is an expansion underway that ads maybe one third to the floor space that should help. Don't expect fancy, this is a fishing pier restaurant after all. If you like to sit just above the waves, enjoy surf and sand and good old Carolina cooking this is the perfect place for you.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jfarlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nags Head Pier Restaurant also viewed

 
Nags Head, Outer Banks
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 

Been to Nags Head Pier Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing