We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Plain Home Cooking in Nags Head with The Best View”

Nags Head Pier Restaurant
Ranked #48 of 83 Restaurants in Nags Head
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
610 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 448 helpful votes
“Nice Plain Home Cooking in Nags Head with The Best View”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

The restaurant on the pier is the sort of home cooking place we all imagine we ate at when we were younger. They serve generous portions of traditional North Carolina fried seafood with some broiled choices now available as well. This is a good place to enjoy a fine cooked breakfast while watching Dolphins playing in the surf. Lunch has the expected local offerings and all the prices are moderate. It is an excellent stop for late afternoon happy hour and as of spring 2014 they still have 10 cent steamed shrimp (order in multiples of 20) as long as you have a beverage. At dinner it can be crowded but they usually squeeze you in. In the meantime there is an expansion underway that ads maybe one third to the floor space that should help. Don't expect fancy, this is a fishing pier restaurant after all. If you like to sit just above the waves, enjoy surf and sand and good old Carolina cooking this is the perfect place for you.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jfarlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    122
    71
    36
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
upstate NY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This is a great place to eat with a view”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We ate here several times. The menu is good. The service is good, and the ocean is beautiful. Try the clam chowder.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank valeriets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Everyone in our house loves the Pier”
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

We have been coming to the Pier for breakfast for many years, but only recently added happy hour to our beach rotation. We highly recommend this restaurant for good reasonably priced food; can't beat the food. And we appreciate the clear explanation of the happy hour rules (not a joke, we really do).

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank njdjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great breakfasts!”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

This is a small (but currently expanding) restaurant that sits atop the breaking waves on the beach. It's always full, but they seem to find a place for you to sit and watch the ocean as you eat. Seems to have a mixture of local regulars and tourists and all get treated with snappy, friendly service, a nice menu assortment and really good, reasonably priced food.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Herb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Felt like a local institution”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

What a great spot for breakfast. Right on the head of the pier, it seems like this place has been here forever. Lots of old signs decorating the wood-paneled walls made it feel like we'd stumbled onto an Outer Banks institution. The french toast and biscuits-and-gravy were terrific and our server was delightfully friendly. I'm glad we were here in April because I imagine it's nearly impossible to get in here during the summer!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nags Head Pier Restaurant also viewed

 
Nags Head, Outer Banks
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 
Nags Head, Outer Banks
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 

Been to Nags Head Pier Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing