We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful find in Outer Banks” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Brine and Bottle - CLOSED

The Brine and Bottle
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Spanish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Now serving dinner only, the Brine and Bottle specializes in seasonal Southern cuisine; unique wines; craft beer; and house-made canned goods, including, among others, old-fashioned bread and butter pickles and bacon jam.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful find in Outer Banks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

We were looking for something a bit different than the bountiful raw/steamed/fried fish and seafood our here, and luckily found Brine and Bottle. Amazing food - 3 of us shared 4 small plates and 1 entree-sized, and one dessert, and ended up in foodie-heaven. Top quality food, innovative pairings with great preparation, and friendly and gracious service. Combined with eating on the outdoor deck on a lovely evening, a great night all around.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OmahaTraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    35
    23
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, small portions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

We recently visited the Brine and Bottle on our vacation to Nags Head. I had the crispy duck breast and it was quite delicious. However, it was about 7 bites and for the price I would not consider that to be an appropriate portion. I ended up sharing my daughters pb&j sandwich and still left hungry.

Another point to note is that this is not a kid friendly restaurant. There is no kids menu and the only thing they had to offer for a 3 year old and a 15 month old was buttered noodles or a pb&j sandwich.

Overall it was a 3 only because the food I did have was very good, just wish there was more of it on the plate.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeb E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crozet, VA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Soundside delicacy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

My newlywed wife and I went here after a sunset cruise on the first mate's recommendation. We were not disappointed! Not that hungry, we shared the bacon jam (amazing!) and the gazpacho with lump crab meat (even better!). They have jars of bacon jam to go, along with other delicacies, so I'm sure we'll have to go back to get some treats for my landlocked in-laws. It'll also give us a chance to try an entree or two (all four looked and smelled scrumptious!).

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hoosjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful waterside spot with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Brine & Bottle is a marvelous stop on the Outer Banks. We dined outside on a beautiful summer night overlooking the Sound. Service was excellent and the food was fantastic. We began with the Bacon Jam, which was unusual and incredibly tasty. We followed with the Fried Green Tomatoes and the House made Mozzarella, both of which were delicious. We could not resist the Fried Pickles, which were the best fried pickles we have ever had, with delectable buttermilk dressing. We ended with a fried soft crab which was perfectly done, and the Shrimp and Grits, which was creatively done with fired grits. A wonderful dinner that was a bargain for such gourmet cuisine on such a gorgeous spot.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scstjohn52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Creative Food Overlooking Roanoke Sound”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

This was our first trip to the Brine and Bottle, and we will definitely return. The restaurant specializes in creative daily fare, including numerous small plates that are perfect for sharing. We started with the fried pickles: thinly sliced, breaded, and deep fried pickles that were delicious--a perfect balance of flavors, with homemade buttermilk dressing chock full of fresh chives. The house pulled mozzarella was served as medallions nestled on a bed of tomato and pesto sauces with a balsamic reduction, a lovely combination of flavors. Pan-seared scallops were perfectly cooked and served with two melon relishes. We greatly enjoyed the shrimp and grits -- creamy grits miraculously formed into triangles and deep fried to a rich brown while maintaining a perfect texture and temperature of the grits. The shrimp were plump and served with cava cream, a buttery, oniony sauce. A peach and blueberry cobbler was the only imperfect item we tasted. It took an extra 30 minutes to cook and never seemed to cool down. The sauce was very runny; a thicker sauce would improve the dish immensely. It did have a lovely, vanilla-y cobbler topping. Nice wine list, attentive service. Small dining room; get a reservation or arrive early and enjoy!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chezshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brine and Bottle also viewed

 
Nags Head, Outer Banks
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing