We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative Food Overlooking Roanoke Sound”
Review of The Brine and Bottle - CLOSED

The Brine and Bottle
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Spanish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Now serving dinner only, the Brine and Bottle specializes in seasonal Southern cuisine; unique wines; craft beer; and house-made canned goods, including, among others, old-fashioned bread and butter pickles and bacon jam.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Creative Food Overlooking Roanoke Sound”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This was our first trip to the Brine and Bottle, and we will definitely return. The restaurant specializes in creative daily fare, including numerous small plates that are perfect for sharing. We started with the fried pickles: thinly sliced, breaded, and deep fried pickles that were delicious--a perfect balance of flavors, with homemade buttermilk dressing chock full of fresh chives. The house pulled mozzarella was served as medallions nestled on a bed of tomato and pesto sauces with a balsamic reduction, a lovely combination of flavors. Pan-seared scallops were perfectly cooked and served with two melon relishes. We greatly enjoyed the shrimp and grits -- creamy grits miraculously formed into triangles and deep fried to a rich brown while maintaining a perfect texture and temperature of the grits. The shrimp were plump and served with cava cream, a buttery, oniony sauce. A peach and blueberry cobbler was the only imperfect item we tasted. It took an extra 30 minutes to cook and never seemed to cool down. The sauce was very runny; a thicker sauce would improve the dish immensely. It did have a lovely, vanilla-y cobbler topping. Nice wine list, attentive service. Small dining room; get a reservation or arrive early and enjoy!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chezshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    35
    23
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An out of the way gem”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stopped by for a look-see and stayed for a glass of wine and a few small plates. The location is out off the causeway between Nags Head and Manteo, but worth the drive. Try the Bacon Jam with Saltines, the Fried Pickles with Ranch-Chive Dressing, the Chicken Liver Pate or the Shrimp and Grits. All worth the cost. And the views of the sound from inside this small spot are terrific too!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PNO4TE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Simply Magnificant”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We were fortunate enough to enjoy some great food and excellent service again here. All while sitting outside enjoying the water. Keep in mind that this is not a cheap place, but it will be one of your best meals in the OBX. Order a lot and share.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank prdVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outer Banks, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Overpriced for what you get.”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Sorry guys, I just wasn't impressed with your restaurant. But you can't please everyone, thats why there are millions of restaurants. Didn't like the atmosphere, too staunch. Food tasted pretty good, but I'm one of those people that are not impressed by fancy visual food with liquids drizzled over them. Anyway, it's worth a try, we all have different tastes. I just put in my 2 cents.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Unusual for the location”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

The Brine and the Bottle is located in a nondescript "shopping" arcade on the Nags Head to Manteo causeway. It is small and recommendations are usually necessary to dine inside. The menu changes nightly, although several items seem to be regular items on the menu. The food is up-scale gourmet and the portions are generally small. We have dined here several times and the food and service have been excellent (although at times I wish there was more on the plate).

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brine and Bottle also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing