We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definately Worth a Second Visit”
Review of The Brine and Bottle - CLOSED

The Brine and Bottle
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Now serving dinner only, the Brine and Bottle specializes in seasonal Southern cuisine; unique wines; craft beer; and house-made canned goods, including, among others, old-fashioned bread and butter pickles and bacon jam.
Reston, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Definately Worth a Second Visit”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Wow what a gem. We read that Brine and Bottle was the Yelp first place restaurant in Nags Head in 2012 so we thought we would try it. It is well worth the drive in South Virginia Dare Highway near the bridge to Manteo. We stopped in on Tropical Storm Andrea Friday night and were able to sit at the open bar..Note Brine and Bottle has booked reservations two weeks out. My wife and I enjoyed the delicious steak dinner and a terrific bottle of Chardonnay. We also opted for the peach blue berry cobbler - that you need to order (30 minutes out) with your entree and wow was it delicious. The restaurant is tiny and a bit hot but if you make a reservation it will be worth while indeed. The three person staff was very friendly and quite helpful with menu suggestions. We thoroughly enjoyed all the he sides and our dinner and will definitely go back to Brine and Bottle again perhaps to enjoy their deck al fresco dining in better weather. Bon Appetit .

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DfHRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    35
    23
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, MD
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A Great Meal”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We has small plates of the house fried pickles, the soft shell crabs (two small ones) and a huge spinish salad and the mahi-mahi entree. All were outstanding as was the strawberry coblber. The wine list is a little expensive but does have a number of choices. Seating inside is limited, only seven tables or so. Some outside seating but the night we were there it was too windy for anyone to want to sit there. The service was attentive and very thoughtful. This relatively new place is highly recommended and we will return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank endjed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great views, great food, great service”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

As frequent visitors to the Outer Banks, we're always looking for a new experience. There are lots of excellent restaurants here, and our latest find is Brine and Bottle. We arrived early and enjoyed a beer and a wine cocktail, then we were seated on time for our 7:45 reservation. While we were waiting to be seated we enjoyed watching the food coming out of the kitchen and asked the waitress behind the bar what each one was, so by the time we were seated, we already had our dinner picked out.

We shared two "small plates", the cream of asparagus soup and the fried house pickles and were extremely pleased with both choices. For our entree we shared the shrimp & grits (wanchese shrimp/ falls mill grit cakes/ cava cream), and it was one of the most flavorful and unique dishes we've experienced. To top it off we ordered had the NC strawberry cobbler, cooked to order (allow 30 minutes) and it was one of the best desserts we ever had.

The menu reminded me a little of a tapas restaurant, but with larger portions than you'd usually find in a traditional tapas place. They say that the menu changes daily, but they have menu favorites like shrimp and grits, cream of asparagus soup and the cobbler that seem to stay on the menu.

The food is high end for the Outer Banks and is a bit pricey by some standards, but we felt that it was definitely worth it considering the quality. This will certainly rank up there as one of our favorite places on the OBX.

By the way, and several other reviewers have mentioned this, but serving bread would be a very nice addition, especially as a complement to the wonderful cream of asparagus soup. I'm sure the chef could come up with something unique considering the excellent job on all the other items.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank headnerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baumholder, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An exquisite culinary experience - taste, creativity and plating unmatched in the Outer Banks! Intimate setting, reservations ar”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We followed the lead of Guy Fieri, host of Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives on the Food Network. Bacon jam, soft shell crab, lamb chops and beef tenderloin were absolutely fabulous. Our kids were so jealous that we are ordering and shipping the bacon jam online at www.thebrineandbottle.com. Don't forget to order the strawberry cobbler with dinner. Absolutely delicious!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kevinbatule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Another reviewer nailed it.
This, to me, is like the Hamptons/Montauk/NYC w/o the BS pretensiousness. Fantastic place. Thx David, Laura...
Also chatted up a very friendly couple that sat next to us...
NC, u had me at Mahi Mahi with strawberries....

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mybackhurts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brine and Bottle also viewed

 
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing