We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”

Blue Moon Beach Grill
Ranked #1 of 81 Restaurants in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $29
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Blue Moon Beach Grill is located at MP 13 in sunny, downtown Nags Head. We are just down the road from Jockey's Ridge in Surfside Plaza. We are open 7 days a week from 11:30 AM till 9:00 PM. Our goal is to provide each customer with a "once in a blue moon" dining experience.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

We visited at lunch. Good service, the server was knowledgeable and answered our questions concerning the menu. The food was good. An enjoyable experience.

Helpful?
Thank ksgarmon58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,949 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,481
    351
    83
    26
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

The food here was amazing! I would come to outer banks just to eat here again. The space is a little small and tucked away between shops but don't let that stop you. The food is worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
341 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Don't let the strip mall location fool you.”
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Although the strip mall location might lead you to believe that you should drive on by, don't be fooled. This is an awesome place to eat. Great service, great atmosphere (inside), and amazing food. This place is a must when on Nags Head.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kittyme2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best”
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

The second time this week and we brought the family - be sure to try the watermelon beer and every thing we ordered had been fantastic! !!! We love this little out of the way place! Food and service - excellent!

Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
78 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Outstanding and Heavily Endorsed by Servers at Competing Establishment!”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

There's a reason why this place is packed - it's simply outstanding! Thrilled to hear that they are opening a second place in February. This couple knows how to run an amazing business! Although my husband and I typically do not order the same thing, they had a swordfish special with watermelon/strawberry salsa that sounded too good to miss. Elizabeth, our server, was phenomenal. She was extremely knowledgeable with respect to the menu, beyond helpful, and delightful. I opted to sub out the rice for seaweed salad and the kitchen was gracious enough to oblige. I must say, the seaweed salad was out of this world, BUT the swordfish, with its light molasses sauce, and the salsa hit it out of the park. I always admire creativity in the kitchen, and love to prepare unique dishes at home, but this pairing was simply phenomenal! Hats off to the chef for coming up with this one.

The dead giveaway that this place is so amazing is truly the fact that servers at other local establishments will tell you this is where they go. We've been coming here for years and Blue Moon is absolutely rock solid in terms of living up to its promise of serving outstanding food. They don't take reservations so the only way to avoid a hefty wait time is to go early. It's entirely worth it!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Moon Beach Grill also viewed

 

Been to Blue Moon Beach Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing