We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of my favorites!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Moon Beach Grill

Blue Moon Beach Grill
Ranked #1 of 80 Restaurants in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $29
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Blue Moon Beach Grill is located at MP 13 in sunny, downtown Nags Head. We are just down the road from Jockey's Ridge in Surfside Plaza. We are open 7 days a week from 11:30 AM till 9:00 PM. Our goal is to provide each customer with a "once in a blue moon" dining experience.
Maryland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“One of my favorites!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

The food is always great and the services quick! We always have a meal at the Blue Moon when visiting OBX. Everything is delicious! This visit, I had the fish and chips and my husband had the mahi BLT. We also had the calamari....all was delicious with large portions. We will be back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OBXLover08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,896 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,445
    338
    79
    26
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Try the Mahi Mahi BLT!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

This restaurant was recommended by a local and I am so glad I stopped by! My boyfriend and I went for a late lunch after a trip to Cape Hatteras Lighthouse. The wait was minimal...we sat at the bar. I had the Mahi BLT and my BF had a cheeseburger. Both were huge portions and cooked very very well. The bartender and hostess were very friendly and it was a great place for lunch.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Win4ecu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
408 reviews
355 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“This is A Must Visit In Outer Banks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

My wife and I are frequent visitors to the Outer Banks - a short trip from our home in Virginia Beach. I close friend and former work colleague recommended Blue Moon, and we now realize why she has been so enthusiastic. Clearly this place is exceptional as evidenced by how busy it is. Despite the crowd, the staff was able to manage the intense demand without negatively impacting our leisure experience. Dee and I shared the wings (a total departure from the ordinary), the Shrimp and Grits and Veggie Voodoo Pasta, the latter a spicy concoction of marinara, sauteed vegetables and pasta. I am a pasta fanatic and would not change anything with that menu item All were delicious beyond description. The check was a bit on the pricey side, but well worth the experience. We will add Blue Moon to Jolly Roger as our favorite Outer Banks restaurants. Holly and Mike went out of their way to make us feel welcome.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tfig218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Went in on a Sunday at lunch time, they were busy but were very accommodating, which is more than what I can say about other restaurants in the obx. Food was great, staff was great and I will definitely be back!

Helpful?
1 Thank Foodie286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Delicious food for a price comparable to a chain restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

For starters, this place is open in the off-season, which is an automatic plus for us. The Blue Moon was just small enough to feel cozy and large enough that it was staffed for great and prompt service. The food was fantastic. We ordered the jerk marinated chicken(~$10) to start with and that was perfectly cooked and delicious. We had for the main course the voodoo veggie pasta with blackened shrimp ($12 just veggies, $17 w/ shrimp) and the caribbean pulled pork sandwich ($10), and they were incredible dishes as well. The pulled pork was an excellent refresher to the standard pulled pork that we are used to. The pasta was every bit as delicious as it looked in one of the pictures posted here on tripadvisor. We had apple cheesecake for dessert and it was creamy and delicious. The service was excellent - our server (as well as the hostess and manager) made sure we had everything we needed.

We definitely recommend this place, and if you happen to arrive to a full house, it's worth the wait.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kaylamazing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Moon Beach Grill also viewed

Nags Head, Outer Banks
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Blue Moon Beach Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing