We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good shrimps and grits”

Blue Moon Beach Grill
Ranked #1 of 83 Restaurants in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $29
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: Blue Moon Beach Grill is located at MP 13 in sunny, downtown Nags Head. We are just down the road from Jockey's Ridge in Surfside Plaza. We are open 7 days a week from 11:30 AM till 9:00 PM. Our goal is to provide each customer with a "once in a blue moon" dining experience.
Lenoir City, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very good shrimps and grits”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

we visited for lunch. we had shrimp and grits and a burger, both were excellent!!! the service was great. and the food was better

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,984 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,512
    353
    84
    27
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
57 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Consistent, great food & experience!”
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Last September, my Mom & I tried Blue Moon, based on Trip Advisor reviews, and we couldn't wait to go back during our trip this month. The whole family went, and it turned out to be their first Sunday being open. The daughter of the owners stopped by our table, and was very pleasant. Everyone enjoyed their meals very much - we got the fried green tomatoes with shrimp and goat cheese again, which was as good as we remembered. The menu is varied, the service friendly & fast, and the food was delicious. My Brother & sister-in-law enjoyed it so much, they went back again for lunch later in the week. We'll definitely return in September!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Egreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
332 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Hubby said Blue Moon Rates a 7!!!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

For our last night on OBX we wanted a great dinner. Thanks to fellow Trip Advisors, we were steered to Blue Moon Grill. Hubby ordered shrimp on grits, I had oyster caesar salad----amazing!
A side of hot parmesan bread and a shared key lime pie rounded out the meal. Service was excellent, kitchen staff and management were top drawer ! Could not be improved!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snivvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Level Contributor
185 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Great service, yummy food!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful service!

Wonderful food!

Not surprised they are #1

Best French fries ever (yum!)

I am a health nut...but broke down...glad I did!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
Level Contributor
245 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Another great trip to Blue Moon”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We found this place a couple years ago and after 5 or 6 visits for both lunch and dinner, we have never been disappointed.

We hit lunch last weekend just about noon and were promptly sat (4 adults, 2 high chairs). Within 10 minutes it was standing room only so we made it just in time.

We started with the scallop appetizer. 4 scallops with some seaweed/coleslaw. The scallops were cooked good, but maybe a little too much soy flavor. I then had the Mahi BLT and it was great. The fries are always good, and again came through. My wife had the ahi tuna salad on top of a tortilla shell bowl and it was very good. Great selection of beers as well.

This has become a staple of any trip to OBX, and will continue to be as long as they keep up the good work!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BareTruth0827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Moon Beach Grill also viewed

 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 

Been to Blue Moon Beach Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing