We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must Try!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Moon Beach Grill

Blue Moon Beach Grill
Ranked #1 of 80 Restaurants in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $29
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Blue Moon Beach Grill is located at MP 13 in sunny, downtown Nags Head. We are just down the road from Jockey's Ridge in Surfside Plaza. We are open 7 days a week from 11:30 AM till 9:00 PM. Our goal is to provide each customer with a "once in a blue moon" dining experience.
Norfolk, VA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Must Try!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We visited the Blue Moon Beach Grill during our Middle School class trip. When we first arrived, we were immediately seated. The service was wonderful and our waitress was able to accommodate our group of 18. Some of our group got fish and chips and all enjoyed it. Everyone in our group liked their food. We will definitely visit again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank j0ytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,898 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,446
    338
    80
    26
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great fish and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Excellent meal, good service and nice folks. Highly recommended - if you do not want tourist food then this is the place or you.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank T N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I'll make it a point to go back whenever I'm in Nags Head”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had a group of 12 that stopped by for a lunch. Located in the Surfside Plaza shopping center, just across from Nags Head Harley Davidson. Nice little place that seated us quickly and provided attentive service throughout our meal. Amongst the group we had the crab tomato bisque soup, which was excellent and had plenty of lumps of crab. I had the Shrimp 'not a burger', with blackened shrimp, fried green tomato & sharp provolone served on toasted ciabatta bread with arugula, basil aioli and a balsamic reduction. Great sandwich. Others had the shaved ribeye steak and cheese (one of the best I've tried recently) or the Mahi Mahi BLT - fresh Mahi Mahi, pepper dusted, seared, and served on a toasted roll with local Currituck tomatoes, crisp lettuce and Applewood smoked bacon. Served with a jalapeño remoulade. All were impressed with the taste and quality. The place has a relatively diverse menu that offers some deviation from the 'typical' beach fare. See their website for photos and the menu.

A casual place with an upscale twist on the food, and an overall good experience. I'm going back on my next trip down.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeP_in_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pace, Florida
Level Contributor
264 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“One Year Later: Very Good But Not Outstanding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We returned to the Blue Moon Beach Grill for lunch on Friday. Although packed with diners, service was - as always - friendly and professional. We started with a cup of crab soup and fried calamari. The soup was flavorful and rich! The calamari was perfectly deep fried but served directly over a sauce of white wine, cherry peppers and butter that left the lovely calamari droopy and soggy. Not very appetizing...Our entrees were very successful. Husband enjoyed his crab cake sandwich and we shared my very large order of fried flounder. So delicious! Both dishes were served with a mountain of crisp fries and the house remoulade. During this recent visit, we did have difficulty deciding what to order primarily because the past daily specials were more creative and edgy than on Friday. We will return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hands down best of OBX”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

I could eat at Blue Moon for lunch and/or dinner and not visit any other restaurants in the outer banks, and I would be just fine.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ObxtoLbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Moon Beach Grill also viewed

Nags Head, Outer Banks
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Blue Moon Beach Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing