We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”

Blue Moon Beach Grill
Ranked #1 of 83 Restaurants in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $29
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Description: Blue Moon Beach Grill is located at MP 13 in sunny, downtown Nags Head. We are just down the road from Jockey's Ridge in Surfside Plaza. We are open 7 days a week from 11:30 AM till 9:00 PM. Our goal is to provide each customer with a "once in a blue moon" dining experience.
Richmond
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

A true hidden gem! You have to hope that the crowd never discovers this restaurant and that the trendy people turn up their noses at its hidden strip shopping center location. The food was excellent. The atmosphere is casual and comfortable but slightly noisy. The server was very personable as well as one of the owners who stopped by the table to make sure everything was suitable. The restaurant is small and doesn't take reservations so plan the timing of your visit accordingly.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucky1inVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,017 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,538
    358
    85
    27
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our annual first night at the beach!!”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We found this restaurant by seeking out reviews....and absolutely love it! It's where we always go when we first get to the beach and usually the last night before we go home. Service is great, food is delicious. Our family favs are the Mahi Mahi BLT and they have an awesome Philly Cheesesteak. A great selection for the seafood lover or the seafood hater. Soups are delicious too!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Definitely good for families!”
Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

Tuna bites were amazing! Cool bar area but overall definitely good for families!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GrubbyHalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell, Virginia
1 review
“Best on the beach!!”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

My brother recommended the Blue Moon Beach Grill to my husband and me. It has become one of, if not our favorite place to eat on the beach. I love the fish tacos and my husband is fond of the fish & chips. Fast & attentive service. Can't wait until our next visit to the Outer Banks to go back to this excellent place to eat.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food !”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Best shrimp and grits ever! We ate here twice...the "Shrimp 'Not a Burger'" was very good also.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Moon Beach Grill also viewed

 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Blue Moon Beach Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing