We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With a very few exceptions, great place to stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“With a very few exceptions, great place to stay!!!”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We literally just checked out today and Im on my iphone, writing this review.

This is one great surprise esp since it was my husband who made the reservations a day before we arrived. I was a little nervous when he sent me the email, confirming the reservation, seeing the tiny inn/hotel photo. I usually dont trust him with reservations but this one blew me away! I had to go to Tripadvisor to check the reviews, which were all promising!

Still I was nervous!
We arrived and met gracious Becky at front desk, who allowed us to check in 3 hrs earlier. That was bonus enough, having driven 8hrs from NJ with a dog.

As soon as we got to our room, voila! A pleasany surprise. It was kinda small for 2 adults, a 7-yo girl, and a dog but the cleanliness made up for all of it. Ive been traumatized by bed bugs we brought from a hotel in Rome so I checked the beds, which had sheets that were crisp and clean. (i think they actually WASH comforters with each visit).

The bathroom was clean, so was the sink.

Coffee also mattered so it was helpful that there was free coffee at 0700-1000.

Of course, the most important is the location!!! It is just right beside or across everything! Across the beach and Jeanette's pier, where they had a surfing competition. Its right beside a restaurant (Sam and Omie's), an ice cream place (Fat Boyz), and across a grocery. Of course, too, its a few miles away from other great restaurants.

So am I coming back? Definitely! Ive fallen in love with Nags Head and the rest of the Outer Banks!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WanderingKaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    59
    19
    15
    17
See reviews for
41
65
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lansdale
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Hotel was very close to beach and a good value for the money. Hotel was old and certainly not fancy. However, it was clean and neat with the exception of mildew on shower curtain. Mentioned it at check out and I'm sure it was corrected. Good internet connection. Only negative was family in adjoining room. We were awakened in the middle of the night by a blaring TV for about half hour. So loud I could follow dialogue of show. Adjoining restaurant was excellent also. Do not pass this hotel up because of its age.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank country1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This Rodeway inn exceeded my expectations! Located in the BEST location, right across from Janette's pier, next to a fantastic all day restaurant and across from a super convenient market. The views from the balcony were great and the free morning coffee service was awesome! It was set in the right place when I went running in the morning because it had sidewalks on both sides of the hotel and a beach right across the street so it was very easy access. The only downer was that the pool was not filled and our room was sort of small for 3 of us... but we were looking into reserving one of the beach cottages for a future stay possibly. The little gift shop was cute and everyone was so friendly. Really a great place to relax and spend vacation!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rara1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We made a last minute decision to go to the Outer Banks and were looking for a place that wasn't ridiculously overpriced. We found this place through TripAdvisor and were pleasantly surprised at how nice it was! We got a suite which was a little cabin across the parking lot from the hotel. The room was clean and spacious. The kitchenette was small, but still useful. The bathroom is pretty tiny but adequate. The small shower was okay, but my wife had a tough time shaving in its tight confines. Everything was well-kept, but don't expect luxurious appointments. The location of the hotel was perfect for us. We had no problem walking across the street to hit the beach or visit Jeanettes. It also gave us easy access west to Roanoke Island, north to Kitty Hawk, or south to Hatteras and some of the quieter beaches. We are looking forward to coming back to the Outer Banks (next time with more planning) and will absolutely stay again!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

you sometimes don't know what you're getting into when you book a motel room but this time, we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The staff in the office was very friendly. It was pet friendly (which I love) and there were two beautiful and friendly chocolate labs in the office. (GREAT touch and soooo welcoming. Who wouldn't want to be met with such beautiful, wagging tailed, happy dogs?) It was a very enjoyable stay and would definitely book this hotel again! Oh, and another nice surprise. My daughter and family checked in the following day and were put in a room right next to ours. Even when we call in advance somewhere else, we normally can't make that happen. Kind of a miracle to us :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

AMAZING DEAL & VERY CLEAN WITH COURTEOUS STAFF! GREAT FOR PET OWNERS, TOO! We decided last minute (Friday night) to go on a weekend trip (beginning Saturday) to the OBX. I found Rodeway Inn & Suites here on tripadvisor and made a reservation. I was very pleased when we arrived to our little “cottage” to find a small studio apartment type lay-out complete with a full size fridge in the kitchen; we brought our 49 lb. golden and it was nice to have the extra space for a pet. The price was competitive with other hotels in the area, but was definitely a best value. The hotel is easy to locate and right across from a public beach access. I reserved our next stay already! Oh, and they offer a military discount!
~ Amanda Ball

Room Tip: The cottages are maybe $20 more per night but certainly worth the extra space! I also loved that we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda-n-Darren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Pool broken rooms smallish excellent location beach was nice had nice clear water new pier was nice good ice cream close store across the street

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
0.7 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
837 reviews
8.4 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,119 reviews
6.9 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites

Property: Rodeway Inn & Suites
Address: 7218 S Virginia Dare Trl, PO Box 367 MP 16 1/2, Nags Head, NC 27959-9128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the beautiful beaches of the Outerbanks of North Carolina. We are a small pet friendly hotel located directly across the street from the Nags Head beaches and the new Jennette's Pier NC Aquarium. We offer newly renovated rooms and suites, kitchenette and ocean view rooms are also available. Free continental breakfast and Wi-Fi is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn And Suites
Rodeway Hotel Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing