We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DUNE VIEWS KITE FLYING”

Jockey's Ridge State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$16.91*
and up
Beach Cruiser Rental on the Outer Banks
Ranked #1 of 40 things to do in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Two of the highest sand dunes on the East Coast are located here, providing excellent take-off points for hang gliders.
Morris County, New Jersey
Level Contributor
101 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“DUNE VIEWS KITE FLYING”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

There's everything to like about this Park. Walking trails, restrooms at the parking area, shopping across the street at Kitty Hawk Kites, views of the sound and ocean, a place for the kids to burn off some of that stored up energy on the ride down before you check into your cottage.

We've been stopping here for years. This is the first year we've taken our stunt kite up to the top of the ridge/dune. The sand has shifted some and the climb from the store side is steep but the view is amazing; 360 degrees, and the kite-flying conditions couldn't be better anywhere. Wide open landscape of sand allows plenty of room to fly the stunt kite.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank njaloha23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,235
    339
    53
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always a great time”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

leave your shoes behind at the entrance and run free. Wonderful park to fly a kite, race up or down or even roll,slide, bogie board down some sand dunes. Get there in time to see the sun set over the sound. Free, excellent parking, friendly people, both visitors and park staff alike.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stunning.”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

I wasn't really sure what to expect from a bunch of sand dunes, but this place is a must see! It really may be one of the most amazing things I have ever seen. You feel like you are on top of the world, or in a far off desert. I can't believe we haven't seen this sooner. Absolutely beautiful! Have to see it to believe it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must see visit in Nags Head!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Fun every year, it changes with the winds. Be sure to schedule time in early morning or evening as sand gets hot!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandmarktx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAMBURG
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Jockey's Ridge Sand Dunes”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Biggest Sand dunes that I ever saw, way bigger than they look like from the road, they go on for a long way

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JAMES W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jockey's Ridge State Park also viewed

Nags Head, Outer Banks
Manteo, Roanoke Island
 

Been to Jockey's Ridge State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing