We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome !!”

Jockey's Ridge State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$16.91*
and up
Beach Cruiser Rental on the Outer Banks
Ranked #1 of 40 things to do in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Two of the highest sand dunes on the East Coast are located here, providing excellent take-off points for hang gliders.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Go late inn the evening . Everybody goes to catch the sunset...very impressive. The sand in much cooler to walk on in the evening. A lot of hiking and climbing steep dunes...not for the out of shape...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bterror11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,211
    332
    53
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sunsets!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Be prepared to walk up and down hills. But, this natural wonder is truly worth the hike. Bring kites, bring boogie boards for sledding down the dunes. Bring your camera for gorgeous sunset pictures. We went here 3 times during our week vacation!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank skipamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“God lots of sand.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Good experience to climb the sand dunes just do it on a cool day. Good adventure. Free no fee to get in.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Timbercreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Definitely worth a stop! Definitely take water or something to drink. Going down the dunes is definitely more fun than going up. Good family fun - and it's free!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RobinJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast PA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A Real Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had no idea what to expect...and were amazed at the size of the dunes! What an incredible sight! It was hot, but we were able to climb the dunes in our bare feet and enjoy the views in the morning. I would imagine it would get too hot to climb by noontime; but we heard sunset is also a good time to visit. I encourage everyone to try it! We are in our 50's and not athletic, but we managed fine :) There is a nice visitor center with information about the dunes, as well as restrooms. Outside there is water to rinse the sand off your feet after the visit. If you are so inclined, you can sign-up for hang gliding lessons. We watched a group having their lesson; they launched from the top of a dune, but didn't fly too high or far. It looked safe and fun. Enjoy!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CroydonTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jockey's Ridge State Park also viewed

Nags Head, Outer Banks
Manteo, Roanoke Island
 

Been to Jockey's Ridge State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing