We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandbar, Our home away from home!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandbar Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 5 Nags Head B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 9, 2010

We had a fantastic stay at the Sandbar. The innkeeper, Cara, was phenomenal! She went out of her way to make us at home and see to our needs. She was also very helpful with tips about the area, where to go and what to do. The atmosphere was casual and laid back, just what we wanted. We felt like we really could make ourselves at home. The "beach closet" and afternoon snack were nice extra touches. The location of the B&B (across the street from the beach!) was great, close enough for a day trip to Corolla or Ocracoke. We had a lot of fun on our trip, and the Sandbar is somewhere that we would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Funtimes888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 49 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2010

Cara the inn keeper was very friendly and helpful, although she was not present at the inn upon our arrival she had left a welcome note for us and there was also complementary wine, cheese and biscuits which was very welcome.

The inn is a lovely house and our room was clean and the decor bright and cheerful. The location was ideal just across the road from the beach. I would point out to anyone with young children that the road is wide (by UK standards) and quite busy. We had spent the afternoon on the beach at Rodanthe and this was much more how we imaged the outer banks.

Breakfast was very relaxed, informal and of the serve yourself variety. There was a good selection of muffins, jams, fruit, yoghurts and pastries. As we were driving to the Blue Ridge Cara told us to take food for our journey which was very kind.

We really enjoyed our stay at the Sandbar, but felt it was a little expensive compared to other B&B's we have stayed at in North Carolina, Virginia and Cape Cod which provided us with high quality cooked breakfasts.
This is just a personal view as we really enjoy a cooked breakfast served to us when we are on vacation, other people may prefer to help themselves and enjoy a more continental type breakfast.

Nigel & Pat Greenaway

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leintwardine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

The Sandbar B&B and Cara, the innkeeper, team up to provide the perfect stay on the Outerbanks. The inn is a very well maintained and newer home just across the street from the beach and public access. They even have a limited number of beach accessories to use during your stay, first come first serve. You just can’t bet the location for the price. As the innkeeper, Cara creates the perfect balance of helpfulness/service with freedom to use the home as your own. The continental breakfast was extensive and filling, just right for starting the day on the beach. And the evening wine and cheese hour was a perfect nightcap. You can also use their refrigerator and charcoal grill to create your own simple dinner. Cara and her husband are a wealth of knowledge about the community, activities and restaurants. (You must try the Food Dudes restaurant.) The owner Mike and his dog Princess are just as friendly as can be. It was almost our home away from home.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank e4742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Sandbar B & B the beginning of August. Cara (the Inn keeper) was very hospitable, and helpful about the local attractions and resturants. Our room was comfortable, and very clean. Breakfast was generous and very tasty. Cara also put out cheese, crackers, and an assortment of beverages every day at 4:00. We enjoyed our stay very much!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zkatieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

We stayed at the Sandbar B&B over July 4th weekend. The location was exceptional, just a house over from a beach access (very easy walk). The house was nice and very comfortable. The beds were delicious. The Innkeeper, Cara, was wonderfully hospitable and knowledgeable. My family and another family (friends) stayed there together and it was very comfortable. Would definitely return!

The only recommendations would be a larger TV in the main living area and a larger pool (although that would be a little harder than the first suggestion!).

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KKC1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

If you are looking for a wonderful place to stay in Nags Head, NC...I highly recommend the Sandbar Bed and Breakfast. Cara, the inn-keeper was a wonderful host. You actually feel like you're staying in someone's home...communal kitchen...bikes to use...pool/beach toys to share, etc.... And the breakfasts were healthy and satisfying--there was a bowl of fruit always accessible day and night--not to mention the nightly wine/lemonade and cheese/crackers put out each evening. The Inn is centrally located with several restaurants and gallery/shops within walking distance, including a tasty ice cream shop only a half-block away. Take a look at their website...you'll be booking your trip soon.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Lynnae1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2010

The Inn served our purposes during a combo business trip-vacation. The owner and innkeeper were extremely accommodating and friendly. Also, one of the few places that is pet-friendly in the area. The only downside was that wireless was a bit spotty in the area, making it tough when doing work at times - but overall we had a great stay! We have a full review up at www.dailytriangle.com that includes restaurant and sightseeing recommendations. ( http://dailytriangle.com/?s=OBX&searchsubmit=Find+») Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DailyTriangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
3.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
903 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nags Head Beach Inn
Nags Head Beach Inn
#5 of 5 in Nags Head
124 reviews
5.1 mi away
First Colony Inn
First Colony Inn
#1 of 5 in Nags Head
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
6.1 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
5.6 mi away
Owens' Motel
Owens' Motel
#10 of 13 in Nags Head
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandbar Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbar Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2508 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9248
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Nags Head
Price Range: $89 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandbar is a three story beach cottage in the heart of Nags Head. The inn features three guest rooms, all on the second floor, and is just across the road from the beach. Restaurants, shopping and art galleries are within walking distance. Local attractions are all close by. The owner lives on the third level with his dog. The inn is managed by Beata Faulkner. We delight in pairing comfortable rooms with southern hospitality. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing