We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refused refund for Hurricane Irene”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandbar Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 5 Nags Head B&B and Inns
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Refused refund for Hurricane Irene”
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Owner (Beatta) refused to refund deposit for (impossible to use) Tuesday reservation immediately following the Saturday landfall of Hurricane Irene. The Outer Banks on Tuesday - flooding, damaged roads, no electricity in places, and the ferries were overwhelmed with emergency response functions. Reason that Beatta (twice) refused refund: "canceled within 10 days of reservation." Poor character.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JennaM777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandbarInnkeeper, Manager at Sandbar Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Everyone at the Sandbar Bed & Breakfast Inn prides themselves on exceptional customer service. Like all hotels, we do have have a cancellation policy if the cancellation is made within 10 days of arrival and policy in the event of mandatory evacuation of Nags Head.
When a mandatory evacuation of Nags Head was issued on Friday due to Hurricane Irene we have cancelled all reservations for that period of time and have issued refund to all guests.
The above guest supposed to stay at our Inn 3 days after the hurricane landfall. The mandatory evacuation was lifted a day after hurricane landfall. The Outer Banks were in position for vacation at that time. We were in constant contact with Emergency Management. The electricity was running, the roads were not damaged. We were very fortunate that we did not get much damage. In fact we had guests staying at our Inn the night following the hurricane landfall. We have ensured above guest that everything on the island was back to normal and that it was safe to come and stay at our Inn. But the guest decided not to come. This was guest only decision. Despite that we have refunded her charge.
Our guests are our number 1 priority. Our mission is to make Nags Head your favorite vacation spot and we proudly stand behind that!

Beata Faulkner, Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    9
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
24
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

I was really excited to stay here, but was disappointed. It's a great location and Tom is very nice and accommodating. The beach closet with towels, chair and toys is great. It's so nice to have a fridge for leftover or sandwich fixins for beach lunches.

The rooms need a good cleaning, there is a lot of dust on the door frames and even on the walls. The white carpets (probably not a good idea in the first place) are stained and dirty. The white sheets had little stains on them too. The towels were small and thin. The breakfast is pitiful - you can get a better breakfast at the Hampton Inn. It just boxed cereal and frozen muffins and doughnuts bought in bulk and thawed out in the mircowave. Some homemade muffins or coffee cake or doughnuts from Duck Doughnuts would be an improvement - something a little special. I can pack store bought doughnuts in my suitcase.

Lastly, the walls are paper thin. We went to bed at 10 our last night there since we had a long drive home the next day. We could hear people running up and down the stairs all night and Mike (the owner) had people over, who were loud and walking around the floor above us. Not a great way to end our trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bearcatgirl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessMD
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We planned our trip to the Outer Banks two weeks before we went, which is unheard of for the summer, I know! Got it as a birthday gift for my boyfriend. He has a puppy whom we both love and wanted to come to the beach with us, and I'd heard OBX was very dog-friendly. However it was tricky finding a beach that let dogs on the beach during the summer months, as well as a dog-friendly hotel. Seemed many locations had one but not the other. I found Sandbar and grabbed literally the last 3 days they had available in the whole month of August!

We couldn't have asked for a more hospitable stay for a totally spontaneous vacation. We arrived in the evening at 7pm. Mike, the owner, greeted us and showed us around the property. He lives on the 3rd floor of the house but he's often out and about during the day and extremely laid-back. He couldn't have been more welcoming to us and our pup. And the house dog, Princess, is a total sweetheart.

The property: There are 3 rooms for rent, and they are all extremely well-kept and clean. They don't change the linens every day unless you ask them to but they are more than happy to oblige. There is also a washer/dryer that you can use at any time, and plenty of bath towels and beach towels for your use. The refrigerator is always stocked with soda, bottles of water, yogurt, and other snacks that you are free to take (unlike the nasty a la carte crap at a regular hotel!) They also have a few bikes for their guests to use whenever, so you don't have to rent one. There is also a small fenced in pool that you can use at all hours, and our dog was allowed to hang out as well. Couldn't have asked for a better setup.

The staff: Tom, the innkeeper, is the one you'll see the most. Very nice gentleman, insists that you call his cell phone for anything, and prepares breakfast every morning and wine/cheese in the afternoons. He will also make reservations for you at all the popular places to eat, just to make sure you get extra special treatment :) Rosa helps with cleaning and changing the linens, etc, and Beata, the manager, is next door at Mike's gift shop, Something Fishy, which is where you will go to check out. Everyone is very kind, professional, and polite!

Location: the website speaks for itself. Sandbar is literally across the street from the beach, and despite our going during peak season, we never had to compete for space on the sand. There are rolls of poop bags by all the trash cans in case you forget one for your dog, and everyone on the beach loved meeting our pup!

Other fun things to do: outlet shopping, Jockey Ridge State Park (a mile from Sandbar - you MUST go to see the sand dunes!), Sooey's Carolina bbq joint, Collington Cafe, Kitty Hawk Flight Museum, and other stuff we couldn't see on our short trip. Ask Tom or Mike about any of these and I'm sure they'll hook you up.

We've stayed at many bed and breakfasts and I'd venture to say that this one was by far the best, if only because we could bring our little pooch along for only an extra $15 a night. That's cheaper than kenneling him for the weekend, and this way he got to see the beach for the first time. Won't be the last - we'll definitely be back and likely will stay at Sandbar again!

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same, depends how many people you're traveling with, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcanum, OH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

My family stayed here the last week of July, 2011. Loved every minute. Sandbar is in an ideal location - minutes to get your toes in the sand, just across the road and within walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Tom is so nice and helpful and there to answer any questions and has a plethora of knowledge on the Outer Banks. Mike and Princess are great too and we envy his life!! I recommend the Mermaid Room because it has a deck over looking the pool and comfortable beds and a nice bath with separate shower and jetted tub. You have to check out Something Fishy (more than once) and we found they have the same if not better souveniers than anywhere plus you get a discount as a Sandbar Guest! Tom and Mike and Beatta were there when you needed them, but let you do your own thing. Would go back here in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Mermaid Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DianeM11OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a weekend in July 2011. This was our first time to OBX and our first time staying at a B&B.

Pros:
-LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!- you are literally a 3 minute walk to the public access to the beach. It's so close that I walked back to the house to get something I forgot.
-Very friendly staff - the innkeeper and Beata were very friendly and accomodating.
-Extremely pet friendly - our dog got along great with Princess.
-Nice breakfast and wine/cheese spread in the afternoon

Cons (very minor):
-We stayed in the Ocean room and it'd be better if they had a flat panel TV or even just a larger TV than was offered.
-While the room was clean, the fan was extremely dirty with a lot of dirt on the blades.
-I didn't enjoy the shower as I found the curtain didn't stay in the shower tub so the bathroom got water in it and the showerhead wasn't strong enough.
-The biggest con would be the brightness of the room in the morning - they need room darkening shades or something along those lines.

We really enjoyed our stay here and plan on coming back to OBX. While I highly recommend Sandbar to anyone, we probably won't be back as we found B&B's aren't really for us - we enjoy the privacy of our own rental or even a hotel room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wxnats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

After an intensive search for nice pet friendly place to stay, we discovered this gem online.The reviews were so good, that we booked the Mermaid room and can highly recommend it to any fellow dog owner. The room is very spacious and has it's own balcony with exit to the yard which made it easy to let the dogs out anytime. The balcony is not closed off, so you cannot leave your dog out unattended. We traveled with two Yorkies and they had a wonderful time. The beach is only 100 or so steps away and has no time limits to when dogs are allowed. Dogs are supposed to be on the leash and after ours chased some big crabs, I would recommend it. There are a lot of sandburs in the grass everywhere which are very prickly and get into the dogs fur and paws. Our dogs learned very fast to choose the soft beach sand instead. There are poop bags and a garbage bin right by the beach entrance. The Sandbar is very clean, decorated with cheerful colors. Our room was quiet and comfy. Access to the kitchen and laundry was convenient. Mornings breakfast awaited us and in the late afternoon wine and cheese. Tom's dining recommendation and eager help to make our stay wonderful was above and beyond. Mike, the owner, and Princess his dog are both gracious hosts and Beate helped us plan our vacation by answering all our phone calls filled with questions. Their hospitality is to be commended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beatrixmohsenin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

I never write reviews either positive or negative, but I had to comment on this great bed and breakfast. The owner and manager were great- attentive but not intrusive, and the amenities were exactly we were looking for for a parent with two adult children. Thank you to Mike, Tom and Princess for taking such good care of us!

Room Tip: Mermaid room is the largest
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kate49092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
3.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
858 reviews
6.1 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,518 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,483 reviews
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandbar Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbar Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sandbar Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2508 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9248
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandbar is a three story beach cottage in the heart of Nags Head. The inn features three guest rooms, all on the second floor, and is just across the road from the beach. Restaurants, shopping and art galleries are within walking distance. Local attractions are all close by. The owner lives on the third level with his dog. The inn is managed by Beata Faulkner. We delight in pairing comfortable rooms with southern hospitality. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing