We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pet heaven”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandbar Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 5 Nags Head B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 15, 2011

After an intensive search for nice pet friendly place to stay, we discovered this gem online.The reviews were so good, that we booked the Mermaid room and can highly recommend it to any fellow dog owner. The room is very spacious and has it's own balcony with exit to the yard which made it easy to let the dogs out anytime. The balcony is not closed off, so you cannot leave your dog out unattended. We traveled with two Yorkies and they had a wonderful time. The beach is only 100 or so steps away and has no time limits to when dogs are allowed. Dogs are supposed to be on the leash and after ours chased some big crabs, I would recommend it. There are a lot of sandburs in the grass everywhere which are very prickly and get into the dogs fur and paws. Our dogs learned very fast to choose the soft beach sand instead. There are poop bags and a garbage bin right by the beach entrance. The Sandbar is very clean, decorated with cheerful colors. Our room was quiet and comfy. Access to the kitchen and laundry was convenient. Mornings breakfast awaited us and in the late afternoon wine and cheese. Tom's dining recommendation and eager help to make our stay wonderful was above and beyond. Mike, the owner, and Princess his dog are both gracious hosts and Beate helped us plan our vacation by answering all our phone calls filled with questions. Their hospitality is to be commended.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beatrixmohsenin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 49 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2011

I never write reviews either positive or negative, but I had to comment on this great bed and breakfast. The owner and manager were great- attentive but not intrusive, and the amenities were exactly we were looking for for a parent with two adult children. Thank you to Mike, Tom and Princess for taking such good care of us!

Room Tip: Mermaid room is the largest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kate49092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We are staying here now and have really enjoyed it. It's like a home away from home. Will stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grant1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

My family has been visiting the Outer Banks every summer since 1995, and I decided I would the recent Flying Pirate Half Marathon there this spring, as i really see the OBX as my home away from home. Since we always stay in houses, I wasn't sure about staying at a hotel, since I'm simply not used to it there! Luckily, I came across the Sandbar's website.

Staying here was just like being at a beach house with my family (and not just because my sister accompanied me on my weekend trip). The innkeeper Tom was wonderfully welcoming, getting us situated and chatting with us over while and cheese. Our room was adorable, and we were lucky enough to have the Mermaid Room, which meant we had the front deck on the second level. Princess visited us a couple of times (one of the most well-mannered dogs I've ever met!) and we also had the chance to meet Mike, the owner of the house.

Breakfast, snacks, and the stay at the b&b was perfect. Excellent location (we took the bikes out one of the afternoons and went to Sonic!) to both beaches, restaurants, and shopping. I'd highly recommend for a weekend stay or alternative to an entire rental house. Definitely plan to return!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoccerDMB13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Good location. Good atmosphere. GREAT continental breakfast. GREAT service. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffersonDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Went to the Bed and Breakfast to celebrate our 1 year of marriage. We called around to find somewhere that would let us bring our dog and they were very accomodating when it came to that fact. The place is in a good location and was easy to find. Ok now the bad, We got offered the 3rd floor suite in boathouse. On the phone sounded great but when we got there it wasnt as we thought it would be. The 3rd floor was open to anyone that wanted to walk up the stairs so No Privacy and no securing our stuff. We never got a key to even the bed room. We got told about the hot tub on the 3rd floor and was excited to use it when we got there it wasnt working and filled with green moldy water. The same was for the outside pool even though it wasnt warm enough to use it. It just looked nasty. Ok other problems. The room wasnt cleaned recently. There was dead bugs in the bathroom and dirty dishes in the dish washer. There was a broken globe in the corner with broken pieces of glass. The other big dissappointment was the cable didnt work. So we had no TV to watch. I think some of these issues was do to visiting in the off season but we still paid a big price and didnt get what we though we were getting. The main reason to upgrade to the suite was the hot tub and that didnt work. The staff was great except for adjusting our price for the stuff that didnt work. The bed could have been better too was a little rought and noisey everytime you tossed and turned.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stalnaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandbarInnkeeper, Manager at Sandbar Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2011

This is the first review our inn has ever received that is less than 4 stars and we take the constructive criticism seriously and appreciate the honesty and time of our guests. We have already sent an apology to our guests and an offer for appropriate reparations. Due to unintentional housekeeping oversights on our part, these parts of their claim are unfortunately true - despite our customary once-over before their arrival.

However, we want to address some discrepancies in other claims: These guests were the only ones in the entire house for the night they stayed. They knew from our conversation on the phone that they were taking the third floor of the beach house as one suite. At no point were they promised a working hot tub, nor pool access, as it is not our policy to provide this service in the winter months at the owner's discretion. What was specifically discussed was the large jacuzzi in the en suite bath, which was functional and clean upon their arrival. In addition, this was the space made available to them since they were traveling with their pet and the price reflected their option to do so.

Their claim about the cable is absolutely true and would have been rectified immediately, as would have their other concerns, if we had been given the opportunity to do so during their stay. At check-out the next morning they expressed nothing but positive comments about their night, which provided us no opportunity to address the issues when they occurred, nor to correct them on their bill at check-out. We have received important valuable constructive criticism from this review and will strive further to avoid anything close to repeating these issues in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2011

The B&B was charming and homey. Our room had two extremely comfortable beds, jacuzzi tub in a large bathroom--with separate shower. The shared area has lots of breakfast choices and the Innkeeper, Cara, arranged for flowers because it was our anniversary. Short walk across the street to the beach. Cara has lots of suggestions for the best restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rvrlady01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
3.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
902 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
1.7 mi away
Outer Banks Inn
Outer Banks Inn
#11 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,192 reviews
6.2 mi away
Oasis Suites Hotel
Oasis Suites Hotel
#2 of 13 in Nags Head
386 reviews
6.1 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandbar Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbar Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2508 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9248
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Nags Head
Price Range: $89 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandbar is a three story beach cottage in the heart of Nags Head. The inn features three guest rooms, all on the second floor, and is just across the road from the beach. Restaurants, shopping and art galleries are within walking distance. Local attractions are all close by. The owner lives on the third level with his dog. The inn is managed by Beata Faulkner. We delight in pairing comfortable rooms with southern hospitality. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing