We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything You Need and More”
Review of RelaxInn B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
RelaxInn B&B
Ranked #2 of 5 Nags Head B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Friends, some of whom we rarely see but truly love, were staying for a week at a cottage. We had been invited to join them but discovered the cottage was too small to accommodate everyone. So within about two weeks of arrival, we called the Relaxinn to see if they could take us for four days. Eric looked at his schedule and figured out how to accommodate our needs. We were relieved to have a place to stay but really delighted when we were greeted and shown around.

The Relaxinn is very comfortable and well-appointed. Our bed had plenty of pillows and was truly comfortable. We slept extremely well. With the "Birds of Paradise" room, we had a sitting room too. The bath is large and even has a bar in the tub for hanging wet clothing. There are also hooks outside of each room for wet towels and clothing/beachwear. The accoutrements are well thought out and make coming back from the beach easy. There was a small frig in the room, drinking glasses, and an ice bucket. Eric and Margie have gone to a lot of trouble to ensure that the guests' surroundings are attractive as well as functional.

Wine and snacks are served at about four in the afternoon but Eric waits to know you have returned fro your outing so it does not just sit if you come in from your day later. The herbed hummus was wonderful. Eric and Margie even ask what kind of wine you like best and try to accommodate likes and dislikes. Breakfast was lovely. Not only was the food good, the other guests, plus Eric and Margie made for excellent company. We laughed through breakfast every morning. Our hosts were also careful. An allergy was discovered at the last minute and a new breakfast was prepared for the guest who suffered from the allergy. Coffee and tea are available at all times in the common area.

There is a nice hot tub and a beautiful pool. The pool area includes comfortable seating, sun protective umbrellas, and flowering plants. The Relaxinn is a great place, especially if you do not have a whole week for the beach, good food, good company, comfortable accommodation. We had a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for RelaxInn B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 128 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

My wife, daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights. The owners were cordial and our room The Birds of Paradise Suite was clean. After that it was all downhill. Our suite consisted of two rooms. The first room had a king sized bed with a dresser and a small refrigerator that sat on top of some sort of stand. and a television that set on the dresser. The furniture and the carpet had seen better days and nothing matched. The pictures of the birds in the room were gaudy.There were no chairs in this room and there was barely room to walk thru the room. If you wanted to watch television you had to sit on the bed. The room was claustrophobic with only one small window in the corner of the room near the head of the bed. The only thing this window did even though it was closed, was to let the sound of the traffic keep you up during the night. The room was so small we had no place to put our suitcases. The temperature was controlled by the owners. The other tiny room next to our room had a small one seat sofa type chair that pulled out into an undersized twin bed. There were two old straight back chairs from some ones old dining room set that were in the room. We put our suitcases on them as you certainly couldn't sit on them to relax. The owners live directly above our room and we could hear them until they went to bed. And you could hear them again early in the morning,not so relaxing. There was a common area outside of the three rentals that had some coffee. The door in our room was paper thin and you could hear anyone that might use this area. Their advertising brochure is very misleading. The pictures of our room are 5 years old and it looks nothing like what we rented. We rented this unit for four nights but we had an emergency come up at home, so we left one night early. I told the owner the second day we were there that we had a problem and he said we would lose our rent if he didn't rent it. We lost the one night rent and I want the readers to understand this so this review does not appear to be sour grapes.. We stayed at two other Bed and Breakfasts on our trip that each got 5 stars from us. If you care to check-one is the Beaufort House in Ashville, N.C. and the other is The Big Mill B@B in Williamston ,S.C. The unit we stayed in at the Relaxinn was way overpriced for what was offered and certainly was not very relaxing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ron a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricTNagsHead, Owner at RelaxInn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

We told our guest prior to making the reservation that the Birds of Paradise had one king size bed and that the other room had a pullout twin and was for the once in occasion single parent guest with a son or daughter. We were told that an adult daughter did not mind a pull out bed. I then suggested you go somewhere else and recommended another B&B that had larger rooms. You called back and insisted on staying with us because of our reviews? We made the reservation and did not charge a third person charge. As far as leaving early? We were told that a kitchen re-model was not on schedule and we did not deem that as an emergency. Our policy statement clearly states our refund position. We received several requests for a refund and were even accused of not re-opening the room for rental. Our guest is correct it is not the grapes that are sour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Eric and Margie are natural hosts who understand the difference between being warm and cordial versus trying too hard. My fianceé and I felt perfectly at home and had all the privacy we could want. RelaxInn is the perfect name for this excellent (and rare) B&B on the Outer Banks.

Room Tip: I would choose one of the upper level rooms on the Sound side.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Just left the RelaxInn this morning and we miss it already! What a great stay we had. The entire inn is so clean and the owners are super nice and full of helpful information. The inn is one block from the beach, easy walking distance. They serve a delicious breakfast each morning. We felt very welcome and would love another visit soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scook112301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricTNagsHead, Owner at RelaxInn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Well, we very much enjoyed your visit as well. Great reviews are always a welcome surprise for us. We do not have blocks here so we usually put things like that in yards. Relaxinn is about seventy yards from the beach and there is an aerial photo on the " About Us" page of our web site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We went to vacation there in the middle of July and it was the best vacation we've ever gone on. Great location near great food(I've been craving Sam and Omie's since we left), right near the pier and the beach, so much to do, my only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. Eric and Margie are fantastic hosts and the breakfast was incredible. Very cozy, comfortable, clean rooms we we're lucky enough to spend time in two of them (the Captains and then the Birds of Paradise) and only positive things to say about both. We woke up early enough a couple mornings to walk up to their roof porch to watch the sunrise and then also a beautiful view of the sunset later in the day. They have a beautiful walkway to the pool and a great area for the hot tub. Beautiful flowers they have all around the house just make a beautiful environment even more beautiful. Eric and Margie made our vacation so much better with their restaurant suggestions and activities to do during the day. We would have been lost without their help. Whether it was to delicious unforgettable restaurants or to great things to do like the Sunset Cruise, Dolphin Tours, Para-sailing, they always sent us in the right direction. The other guests that were their during our stay were great. We loved our stay at the Relax Inn and will absolutely be coming back again next year. Thanks so much for an amazing stay and I can't wait to come back.

Charlie and Brianna

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any room selection! The two we saw at least I'm assuming the third i...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

It's obvious that Eric and Margie really enjoy hosting guests in the RelaxInn, and that make a big difference in the enjoyment of our stay. The inn is clean and comfortable, and very close to the beach. Our hosts knew a great deal about the Outer Banks, and were ready with recommendations for terrific restaurants, and things to do when the weather did not encourage beach sitting. The swimming pool is clean and well landscaped, and the hot tub looked to be quite inviting. The ocean-view roof-top deck provided a lovely place to enjoy our afternoon wine and snacks, and the breakfasts were enjoyable, both for the quality of the food, and the conversations with our hosts.

We enjoyed a bicycle ride up to the Wright Brothers monument (8 miles each way), and a car ride down to Ocracoke Island which also included a free car-ferry ride.

Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was our first time to the Outer Banks and the Relax Inn. All was clean, comfortable and cozy. We felt very welcomed. We both wished we could have stayed longer, however all good things must come to an end. and there is next year

Thanks so much for your hospitality

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
0.9 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
879 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#11 of 13 in Nags Head
181 reviews
7.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RelaxInn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RelaxInn B&B

Address: 8008 S Old Oregon Inlet Rd, PO Box 1654, Nags Head, NC 27959-9488
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Nags Head
Price Range: $165 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leave your stress behind and come to our oasis where history and natures beauty captivate your mind and spirit! Take a glass of wine to the top deck and enjoy the breath taking sunset or allow the serine breeze to play across your face. The sunrise is a treat to watch along with the waves breaking on the shore in the mornings???. Take a night time dip in our lighted pool, or relax in our bubbling, therapeautic hot tub. The RelaxInn is Ocean side on the beach road about seventy five yards from the beach. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing