We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanks for a great vacation!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of RelaxInn B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
RelaxInn B&B
Ranked #2 of 5 Nags Head B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thanks for a great vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

My wife and I wanted the perfect vacation in the Outer Banks and we found it! Eric and Margie run a WONDERFUL operation in a perfect location. We are picky travelers - having to deal with many hotels for our jobs. The cleanliness at RelaxInn is impeccable... I judge cleanliness according to how it compares to the thoroughness of my little Italian grandma - and we would have felt comfortable eating off the floor at the RelaxInn.

We booked the Captains Room for 5 nights. Breakfasts were always delicious and varied each day. Afternoon wine and snacks are also great. We especially loved the hospitality, the private pool, and the great hot tub. Much care has gone into building and maintaining this property and it shows everywhere.

The location is also idea - close to many great things to do on the Outer Banks. We barely drove 3 miles away from the property during our entire stay - and enjoyed great dining, reasonably-priced jet skiing, and, of course, the beach.

One couldn't ask for more gracious hosts than Eric and Margie - thanks again, and we look forward to returning!

Room Tip: All rooms are quite individual - we preferred the Captains Room since the entrance seems a little mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brent F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
103
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

After a long weekend spent at the lovely RelaxInn, I cannot help but compliment every aspect of this bed and breakfast. Eric and Margie were wonderful hosts. Kind, energetic, and amiable, they make any guest feel welcome within the first few minutes of arrival. They strike a balance between always being nearby and also providing guests with space and privacy. Both were willing to share their knowledge of the area and provide numerous suggestions for activities and meals. The bedrooms, bathrooms, and decks were incredibly clean and the linens smelled so fresh. The many outdoor decks (with terrific views), tranquil pool, and gorgeous flowers and plants created an outdoor oasis. The breakfasts were delicious, warm, and plentiful; including coffee, juices, yogurts, fruits, and main courses, ranging from omelets to breakfast casseroles. Also, the blueberry muffins (one of Margie’s specialties) were absolutely superb.

In addition, it was the many “little touches” that combined to make this a standout place to stay during a vacation. Eric and Margie have thought of everything a guest could want, even before a guest realizes what they want: the availability of umbrellas and beach chairs, the presence of outdoor showers (to help remove sand), lights which illuminate walkways and stairs at night, an outdoor breakfast nook, mid-afternoon wine and snacks (perfect when returning from a day in the sun), and private entrances to each room, just to name a few, make the RelaxInn an ideal place to stay during a trip to the Outer Banks.

So, if you are looking for a wonderfully comfortable and relaxing place to stay, where every need is met before you even know you want something, the RelaxInn and hosts Eric and Margie are undoubtedly the ideal choice.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We can't say enough about Eric and Margie, our gracious hosts. Eric and Margie had excellent recommendations and suggestions for great restaurants, shops, and historical attractions.
The beach is within easy walking distance and a must-see is Jeanette's Pier (recommended by Eric). The pool is just the right temperature after a hot day on the beach. The breakfasts consist of Eric's famous Island Omelet, Margie's Stuffed French Toast, or Blueberry Pancakes with Sausage. Our room was spacious and immaculate! The observation deck is a great place to go and relax with a glass of wine after a day at the beach, touring, or shopping. Eric has a wealth of knowledge on local and national events. This was our second visit and we plan to return again to Relax at the Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Cannot say enough good things about Eric and Margie. We were only able to stay for 3 nights, I wish it was 3 weeks. The room was perfect, Location ...even better. We were @ the south end of Nags Head, close to all the restaurants and attractions. Very close to a nice stretch of beach. Not too crowded. We went kayaking one morning and in the afternoon , we went walking around Jockey Ridge state park...a must see. Eric and Margie both had great suggestions and recommendations. They were the best hosts. The pool was outstanding. Breakfasts were superb. If your only able to go to OBX for a couple days, this is the place, relaxing, easy, great people.

Room Tip: All rooms have stairs access, nice frt porch deck for the frt rm, the two back rms have immediate ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

I can not recommend the Relaxinn B&B strongly enough. Eric and Margie are gracious hosts. The facilities are immaculate. The pool is divine. The location is great between the sound and the beach. Eric is a natural conversationalist while at the same time both Eric and Margie give you all the space you need to simply relax. I can't say enough good things about this B&B. It was most definitely an experience I hope to repeat!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

With every turn of a new corner we were met with beauty, cleanliness, kindness, and hospitality! This Bed and Breakfast has so much to offer. It has a hot tub, pool, hammocks, private entrances, observation deck, bikes, and beach amenities. It is in a fantastic location between the sound and only 75 yards to the ocean. There are lots of great restaurants and site seeing attractions around. There's so much to do and see, we couldn't get to it all! Last but not least, Eric and Margie are so kind and genuine. They love to serve in any way they can. And man, do they serve wonderful breakfasts!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 507Jessie_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Strongly recommend RelaxInn. My wife and I needed some time to ourselves away from our teenagers and we could not have been more pleased with the RelaxInn. Eric and Margie are very nice and caring people who have the gift of hospitality. Our room was very clean, the breakfast was excellent, and the other guests were pleasant to interact with at breakfast. We did not need to bring bikes to ride, or beach chairs and umbrellas, etc. because those were provided. My favorite memory was sitting out at the private pool by myself reading a book for a few hours under a large umbrella to shade me from the direct sun - I felt like a owned the pool! (except I did not have to keep it clean!)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
0.9 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#9 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
7.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RelaxInn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RelaxInn B&B

Property: RelaxInn B&B
Address: 8008 S Old Oregon Inlet Rd, PO Box 1654, Nags Head, NC 27959-9488
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leave your stress behind and come to our oasis where history and natures beauty captivate your mind and spirit! Take a glass of wine to the top deck and enjoy the breath taking sunset or allow the serine breeze to play across your face. The sunrise is a treat to watch along with the waves breaking on the shore in the mornings???. Take a night time dip in our lighted pool, or relax in our bubbling, therapeautic hot tub. The RelaxInn is Ocean side on the beach road about seventy five yards from the beach. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing