We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Kelly's Outer Banks Restaurant and Tavern
Ranked #28 of 85 Restaurants in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $29
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Celebrating 30 years as a family owned and operated local's favorite, Kelly's features angus beef, chicken, pasta and vegetarian dishes, highlighting North Carolina Outer Banks Catch seafood! Enjoy a wide range of menu options from raw bar selections, grilled, broiled or fried fresh fish to steamed oysters, clams, shrimp and crab legs. Kelly's is famous not only for their fresh seafood dishes but for their mouth-watering sweet potato biscuits and made from scratch delectable desserts - made in house daily. Kelly's offers an extensive Wine Spectator award-winning wine collection that will complement any meal. The Executive Chef and culinary staff will accommodate gluten-free and other dietary requests. Families and groups large and small are always welcome and easily accommodated at Kelly's. Kid's menus are available. Kelly's boasts a AAA 3-Star rating and has been featured in Bon Appetit, Gourmet and NC's Our State magazines and numerous other publications. Dinner seating is Monday-Thursday from 4:30 until 9 pm, Friday-Saturday from 4:30 until 10 pm (except Christmas Day). The separate full-service tavern features nightly entertainment that has showcased not only the best regional bands but national acts as well. You can reserve space for a private party, including the tavern, or you can secure Kelly's for premier catering services with or without wait staff. Casual dining at its best with a unique, one-of-a-kind collection of local art, artifacts and Outer Banks memorabilia displayed throughout - Kelly's is must on your dining To Do list! Late night at Kelly's Outer Banks Tavern features live music, DJ's, karaoke and bar menu. Hours Monday-Thursday from 4:30 until 12 midnight, and Friday-Saturday from 4:30 until 2 a.m.
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We were down at obx in March & July & we always go to Kellys for the bands. We always have a great time! Most of the time this place is packed but if you drink beer the fastest place to get one is in the lobby & the best bathroom is there too because the bar & other bathrooms our crowded. We saw the Moonshine Band in July & they rocked the house! Can't remember who was there st. Pattys day but they were great too! This is a good place to eat, drink, & listen to live music!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellysJune1985, Public Relations Manager at Kelly's Outer Banks Restaurant and Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for taking your time to submit your review and also giving us five out of five!! Mr. Kelly and his staff are delighted you have made Kelly's an annual tradition. We look for to seeing you again in 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

361 - 365 of 526 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

As a former OBX resident, Kelly's used to be a reliable meal when no consensus could be reached by dinner guests. No more, sadly. From ambience to dinner, it's an establishment that is no longer a good choice. Seafood was very mediocre (overlooked scallops, bland fish, menu advertising "Gulf Shrimp" while you're on the NC coast!)...drink and wine list more college party worthy than fine dining, and limited non-seafood fare. Decor also feels threadbare and very much like I left it in 1989. Sorry, but I'll have to pass it by next time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We come every year when we come to the beach and Kelly's is always the best !! Great food and great service. Mike Kelly welcomes you personally and takes care of you too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank candy30087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellysJune1985, Public Relations Manager at Kelly's Outer Banks Restaurant and Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you, thank you!! Sending you home with great memories of your dining experience at Kelly's, time after time, is our goal. Thank you so much for including Kelly's in your vacation every year......that's just the best!! BB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Oh my, I don't know where to begin. We stumbled upon Kelly's Outer Banks Restaurant and Tavern after having an awful night trying to get service from a chain seafood restaurant in town. Needless to say we left the other establishment prior to spending alot of money. We were so glad we did. We had a party of 7 and were greeted by smiling and warm hearted staff at the hostess area. We explained how our night had started and were reassured about how well we would be taken care of here. That was absolutely on point. Once at our table we immediately had a server filling out water glasses. She let us know that she was the server for our drinks and that our dinner server would be over. We were welcomed with homemade sweet potato biscuits which they were known for. Appetizers we shared were the most fresh raw clams on the shell and the lobster mac and cheese was creamy goodness. We all had a variety of dishes for our main courses and none were disappointed! I had the smoky filet oscar which was cooked to perfection!! We did save room for the desserts which were made daily from scratch. We ordered 4 different ones and everyone sampled. My favorite which was our servers recommendation was the chocolate chip bourbon pecan pie. DELICIOUS!!! Our server (forgot name but he was tall with longer hair) was professional and knew his trade well. We laughed and joked the entire night. The busboys were always keeping it clean and we enjoyed a good laugh over their hand signals for when a table needed servicing. It seemed as everyone knew there job to do and it ran like a well oiled machine. We were so pleasantly surprised over the evening that it made up for the lack of service elsewhere. It was also a pleasure to meet Mr. Kelly. What a personal touch. We can't wait to visit Nag's Head again and most definitely will make Kelly's a stop each time. Thanks so much for a wonderful night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellysJune1985, Public Relations Manager at Kelly's Outer Banks Restaurant and Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you so much for your review! You've pointed out so many wonderful things and as usual, I'll make sure Mr. Kelly and his staff know about your comments. We're so glad we have become one of your vacation destinations and really look forward to your next visit! Unlike many businesses here on the Outer Banks, we are open year-round so please come back anytime! Sunny regards, BB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My Wife, some friends and I went to Kelly’s Restaurant in Nags Head, NC for dinner and some clubbing on Saturday night, 7/6/2013. Kelly’s has some of the best food on the entire Outer Banks and has the absolute BEST club experience bar none!!

Our waitress (Glenda) was at our table within moments of our seating and had suggestive selling down to a fine art. Several of our party followed her recommendations and were pleased with the results. The rest of the wait staff was extremely pleasant and very professional. They were engaging and were willing to help each other out with water and tea as needed. No one’s glass got empty as a result.

We had a delicious dinner and the orders ranged from the “NC Seafood Collection” (Yumm!!!), a delicious Shrimp, Scallops pasta with an Asiago cheese sauce and a Fillet Oscar that was divine. Award winning Deserts were consumed in the pass around style (take a bite and pass it around) and none were found to be lacking in any way!!

After dinner we retired to the lounge. There is a king sized dance floor for Shaggers and just plain dancers and the band (Rich Whiskey) kept the crowd on the floor. The sweetest cocktail waitress you ever saw (Adriana) was like a bee flitting from table to table and had refreshments delivered before we realized they were needed.

Kelly’s Restaurant and Tavern never fails to live up to it’s reputation as the Outer Banks finest dining and clubbing experience and that’s why we always make room for Kelly’s at least once when we are in Nags Head.

Frankomatic

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Frankomatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellysJune1985, Public Relations Manager at Kelly's Outer Banks Restaurant and Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Wow! Thank you for your generous review! Sounds like yal had a wonderful time, dining to dancing. We just love it when our visitors go for the full Kelly's experience and really enjoy themselves. Kelly's is a wonderful place to include in your vacation....thank you for helping us spread the word! We're looking forward to seeing you all again! BB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kelly's Outer Banks Restaurant and Tavern also viewed

Nags Head, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Nags Head, Outer Banks
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 

Been to Kelly's Outer Banks Restaurant and Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing